GstarCAD 2024 Express Tools

Contents

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ee276e418a41bb975a040bb3

Express Tools

The GstarCAD Express Tools contain a library of productivity tools designed to help you extend the power of your design. They are easy to use, easily integrated into your menus and toolbars, and cover a wide range of functions, including dimensioning, drawing, and selecting and modifying objects. GstarCAD Express Tools are organized on:

1. Block Tools

Change base: The CHANGEBASE command allows changing the base point position of a block. You can move the base point and keep objects staying in same position, or move objects and keep base point staying in same position

Menu : Express tools>Blocks>Change Base Command Entry: CHANGEBASE

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/f2487156d63fee36a81693fb

Block Break: Working with block references that represent symbols are essential in some industrial application drawings like electrical schematics, piping, etc.

But a headache comes when try to place these blocks accurately overlapping or even breaking other objects on your drawing.

Now get rid of this headache with BLOCKBREAK command. This innovative tool is able to wipeout or breaks an object that is overlapped by a reference block.

For example, insome cases we may need to insert block symbols into a cable line in electrical schematic. And normally the cable line is required to be broken by the symbols at where the symbols are inserted. Similar request are also exists in other application designs.

Menu : Express tools>Blocks>Block Break Command Entry: BLOCKBREAK

Block break dialog box:

Name: List all available blocks created in the drawing.

Browse: Browse to open specific drawing file. Pick: You can pick an existing block reference in the current drawing.

Scale: Scales the block reference size according to X, Y and Z coordinates. Uniform Scale option keeps the original size of block reference.

Rotation: You can rotate a block reference by inputting an angle value or keep aligned. Process Mode: You can use a block reference to break or wipeout objects when overlapping.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6bd91c77e2873b238e4fd813

Block Break Process Mode Illustration

Break: Breaks background object(s) when a block reference is overlapped.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9199e15d53c4f5d3a78f5374

Wipeout: Wipeout background object(s) when a block reference is overlapped.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3b40296e14ce903a2731dc89

Replace Block with Another Block: In the current drawing, you can use one block to replace another one. Moreover, you can purge the unreferenced block when the operation is finished.

Menu: Expresstools>Blocks>ReplaceBlock Command Entry: BLOCKREPLACE

Select a block to replace: Select the block to be replaced: Sofa. Then select: OK Purge unreferenced items when finished? Yes/No

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9300af7977638de4b1c64cf8 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/f53d2fec8dc07fe98f16f7c9 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/0d1298f3a90cc3ab708111af Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/7c5d81be86eaf08bc61ca732

See the result below:

PDF page 4 — additional source text

Select a block to replace: Double bed. Then select: OK

Copy Nested Objects: Copy objects in an xref or a block.

Menu: Command Entry: NCOPY

Command line prompts as follows:

Select nested objects to copy: Use an object selection method Base point: Specify a point, or enter M for multiple copies Specify second point or <use first point as displacement>: Specify a point

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/86e0a92ec8a969b7979c2287

Explode Attribute to Text: Explode blocks, converting value of attributes to text objects.

Menu: Command Entry: BURST

Command line prompts as follows: Select entities: Use an object selection method

For example: Explode attributes and convert them to text objects.

  1. Select a block containing two attributes.

  2. Block exploded and attribute values converted to text.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/0e4466c1d816ab0743ad23e9 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9f845f77d755b212b5712df3

Attribute Increment: ATTINC command helps to specify attribute of blocks with incremental value, and to modify attribute value of blocks according to the sort method.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Attribute Increment Command Entry: ATTINC

This command can increase block attribute value that contains a number or letter. When ATTINC command is on, as long as the drawing is not closed, when copying, inserting and deleting a block attribute in the drawing, the property number or letter can be updated automatically.

PDF page 5 — additional source text

Menu: Express>Blocks>Copy Nested Objects                                                            
Command Entry: NCOPY
Select nested objects to copy: Use an object selection method                                                  
Base point: Specify a point, or enter M for multiple copies                                                     
Specify second point or <use first point as displacement>: Specify a point
Menu: Express>Blocks>Explode Attributes to Text                                                         
Command Entry: BURST
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6cf92bf8c749388aacc7dca0 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5b26d8c9c7d4b70627ef6a6e

Export Attribute Information: Export block attribute to an external file in tab-delimited ASCII format.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Export Attribute Information Command Entry: ATTOUT

Once performed ATTOUT command, specify file name and save path in "Enter output filename" dialog box, then command line prompts: Select entities: Specify the blocks whose attributes you want to export.

The block names and attributes are exported to the named file. If the file already exists, you are prompted before it is overwritten. You can easily view attributes in a spreadsheet format and edit individual attribute values. Then you can enter the new values into the drawing file, using the ATTIN command.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/da253c70580738d3490a5168

Import Attribute Information: Import block attribute to an external file in tab-delimited ASCII format.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Import Attribute Information Command Entry: ATTIN

Using ATTIN and ATTOUT together, you can quickly make changes to attribute values for selected block references.

Once this command is performed, the "Enter input filename" dialog will pop up for the user to search file, import the block attributes along with the same handle and block name into the drawing, and make changes to the block attributes as well. Once an attribute value is

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b393a0a9bf18d092d432ab13

PDF page 6 — additional source text

Once performed ATTOUT command, specify file name and save path in "Enter output filename" dialog box, then 
command line prompts: Select entities: Specify the blocks whose attributes you want to export.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ab4b7d72fddbe25e340f0a42

modified, it will be integrated into the specified block. It should be noticed that the imported file can't be attribute file exported by ATTOUT command, whereas the file format should be identical to that of ATTOUT command exporting.

Reads through imported file and processes each line when performing ATTIN command. If the block with the same handle and name is found in the process of treating lines, the modified attribute value of this block will be applied. If several blocks with the same handle and name are found, then system prompts whether to interactively assign saving data when processing these blocks. If "Yes" is selected, the data of each command line will be listed enabling selection of a block to apply this attribute. Press ENTER to skip to next line, press ESC to exit.

Edit Block Attribute in Place: Allows you to edit the textual contents of an attribute of a block when you feel like editing the attribute values without accessing the attribute editor.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Edit Block Attribute in Place Command Entry: ATTIPEDIT

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1329ca378a9bfa4bc014cb52

Statistics Blocks Number: You can statistics the quantity of various blocks through this function.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Statistics Blocks Number Command Entry: BLKNUM

Once this command is performed, its dialog box will pop up. Under Stat. Condition, you can input a block name, layer or check the options: Ignore the blocks in the same insert point and also ignore the scale.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/80b081fec62d9fd4e23f7eff

Count Blocks : This function is used to count the number of the blocks by list.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Count Blocks Command Entry: BCOUNT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command, the command line prompts “Enter to select all blocks or …”.

  1. You can press enter to select all the blocks within the drawing or by
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/703881a7b46d12c3bc20bc63

selecting blocks.

  1. Once pressing “Enter” the system will display the result in the command line.

Change Block Color : Modify the block color quickly.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Change Block Color Command Entry: bChgCol

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Input new color number, here we input 30 for example.

  3. Select block objects, for which the color needs to be changed.

  4. Finished modifying.

Change Block Linewidth: This function can modify block linewidth quickly.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Change Block Linewidth Command Entry: bChgWid

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Input a new line width value.

  3. Select block objects, for which the line widths need to be changed. 4. Finish changing the line width.

Change Block Text Angle: This function can change the text rotation angle of the block and it only takes effect on text or mtext, attribute text can’t be changed.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Change Block Text Angle Command Entry: bChgAng

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Input new text angle(comparative with @)<0>: input 0.

  3. Select the block to change text angle: then Select objects:

  4. Finish changing the text angle.

PDF page 8 — additional source text

Operation steps:                                                                               
1. Start the command, the command 
line prompts “Enter to select all blocks 
or ...”.                               
2. You can press enter to select all the 
blocks within the drawing or by 
selecting blocks.                                                                                       
3. Once pressing “Enter” the system will display the result in the command line.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8c37e94e8fe9eeecd5212ffa Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ec00d8da9c200ecec7576b73 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/cc65ee3cec8474de95ce2498 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/295889d47c2869a8e1e2a30d Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c6f187d1c0ef94a100d10940

Change Block Text High: This function can change the height of the block, it only takes effect on text or mtext, attribute text can’t be changed.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Change Block Text High Command Entry: bChgHei

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Input a new text height value.

  3. Select objects whose text heights need to be changed.

  4. Enter to finish the command.

Change Block Layer: This function can change the block layer. Menu: Express>Blocks>Change Block Layer Command Entry: bChgLay

Operation steps: 1. Start the command.

  1. Input target layer name.

  2. Select block objects to change layer. 4. Press Enter. If the target layer exists, the selected block will be moved to the target layer, if a target does not exist, the software will make a new layer automatically and move the block object to the new layer.

Convert BLOCK to XREF: Replace all instances of a standard block with an xref. Unbind xrefs that are bound. Menu: Express>Blocks>Convert Block to Xref Command Entry: BLOCKTOXREF -BLOCKTOXREF searches the entire drawing for references to a specified block name and replaces them with an xref that you specify. You can have the unreferenced block purged when done. In BLOCKTOXREF dialog box. Select a block to replace: Table and 4 chairs. Then select OK button.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/522c831403cd2e3b2326d31a

-In Select a Xref file. Select the Xref you want. Then select Open button. Purge unreferenced items when finished? Yes/No

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/85ca67dacb4e12286bcead98 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/14ec142689df80b230658cb0

List Xref/Block Properties : List the type, block name, layer name, color and linetype of a nested object in a block or an xref.

Menu: Express>Blocks>List Xref/Block Properties Command Entry: XLIST

Command line prompts as follow: Select nested xref or block object to list: Use an object selection method. After selecting an external reference, the "Xref/Block object" dialog box will display attributes of specified blocks and xref, including object type, block name, color and linetype.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/16f495345613629f8a027630

Trim to Nested Objects: Trims objects with a block as a cutting boundary.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Trim to Nested Objects Command Entry: BTRIM

Command line prompts as follow:

-Select objects or <select all>: Select one or

more blocks and press ENTER. - Select the object to Trim or Shift-select to Extend or [Edge/Fence/Crossing/Project]: Select object(s) or enter an option and press ENTER.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/33968c2a5838dc22da013f2d

Extend to Nested Objects: Extends objects such as line segment, arc, polyline or ray to a block. Objects would be extended to a block as close as possible if they cannot intersect with each other.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Extend to Nested

Objects Command Entry: BEXTEND

Command line prompts as follow:

-Select objects or <select all>: Select one or

more blocks and press ENTER.

  • Select the object to Extend or Shift-select to Trim

or [Edge/Fence/Crossing/Project]: Select object(s) or enter an option and press ENTER.

External Reference Relocate: With this function, our software

can recognize the reference in the drawing and give you the reference state, if you want to select another reference path, click the “Relocate” button and the reference will be displayed in the drawing again.

Menu: Express>Blocks>External Reference Relocate

Command Entry: CHGXREFPATHa

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2109248a8a9238d737fcf8b3

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command and a dialog box will pop up.

  2. Select the external reference name which you want to modify. 3. If you click the “Relative Path” button, you will get a relative path of the reference; If you click “Relocate” button, the system will relocate the external reference.

2. Text Tools

Justify Text: Change a text object's justification without changing its position. Works with text, mtext, and attribute definition objects.

Menu: Command Entry : TJUST

Select objects: Use an object selection method. [Start/Center/Middle/Right/TL/TC/TR/ML/MC/MR/BL/BC/BR] <Start>: Choose the new justification

Usage Example: Covert text to middle justified

-Text left justified. -Text after justification change.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/7f448c7cba70305513d667e0 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bf004760df71bbd925d380c8

Rotate Text: Aligns text, mtext and block attribute objects to new orientation. Rotates text, mtext, and attribute definition objects so that they end up being as close as possible to horizontal or right-read (similar to the behavior of dimension text). Objects are rotated about their middle point in 180-degree increments. For example, if the text is upside-down, it becomes right-side up after a TORIENT operation. Similarly, left-read text becomes right-read text.

Menu: Command Entry: TORIENT

  • Select objects: Use an object selection method - New absolute rotation <0>: Enter a new absolute orientation angle for all selected text. Usage Example: -Text before rotation (Fig 3) -Text after rotation specified angle of 0 degrees (Fig 4)
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ead77beeb56a6ee0186feadf Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/197223c11079004b42d4a101

Change Text Style: This function can change current text style for specified text and single line text, multiline texts are available.

Menu: Command Entry: CHGSTY

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select the text to change text style and you can modify several objects at a time. Then Press enter to finish the command.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8823b325ed01cd06a17c275f

PDF page 12 — additional source text

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Justify Text                                                           
Command Entry: TJUST
Menu: Express > Text Tools > Rotate Text                                                                     
Command Entry: TORIENT
-Select objects: Use an object selection method                                                       
-New absolute rotation <0>:Enter a new absolute orientation 
angle for all selected text. Usage Example: -Text before rotation 
(Fig 3)         -Text after rotation specified angle of 0 
degrees (Fig 4)
Menu: Express > Text Tools > Change Text Style                                                          
Command Entry: CHGSTY 
 
Operation steps:                                                                               
1. Start the command.                                                                              
2. Select the text to change text style and you can modify several 
objects at a time. Then Press enter to finish the command.

Chinese Characters Split: This function can split single line texts to single text one by one, because the English word is a combination of several letters. This function only makes sense for Chinese Characters.

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Chinese Characters Split Command Entry: HZCF

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select the text to be split.

  3. Press enter to finish splitting.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1ef9b152157960470ef91517

Character Break: Menu: Express > Text Tools > Character Break Command Entry: WZDD

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the text to break. 3. Specify the position for the break.

Change Character: This function can continuously revise multiple text objects, single line and Mtext are applicable.

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Change Character Command Entry: _DDEDIT

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d7099166490ac77925f2670a

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select the text to be replaced.

  3. Input characters to replace and press Enter to finish.

Change One Character: This function can change texts in selected single line texts, you can just input characters to be replaced and characters to replace according to the prompts, Moreover it can be used in several single line texts at the same time.

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Change One Character Command Entry: CHGTXT

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select the text to be replaced.

  3. Input the characters to be replaced.

  4. Input characters to replace.

  5. Press enter to finish.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/88159dd2a2d4158ffff17f2e

Change Text Height/Width/Angle/Position: This function is used to modify text height, text width, text angle and text position. You can click or select characters by window selection.

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Change Text Height/Width/Angle/Position Command Entry: TXTHEI / TXTWID / TXTANG / TXTPOS

Delete Annotation: This function is based on this kind of circumstance, you can select one text annotation to be deleted , the software will register all the annotations in one layer, you can just press enter and all the text annotations will be deleted or you can select the texts by window selection and it will not affect the texts of other layers.

Menu: Command Entry: WZOFF

Operation steps: 1. Start the command.

  1. Specify a text annotation to be deleted. At this time you only specify the operation layer, if you directly press enter, the entire layer single texts will be deleted. 3. Select annotations to be deleted (you can select several objects by window selection) and press enter to finish.

Adjust Character: When the texts are mixed with Chinese characters, English letters and Arabic numerals, the text height will be different and the visual effect is not good. You can use this function to match the text height, but this function will explode the text's and it will be difficult to re-edit, so we suggest using this function after the user finished editing the drawing.

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Adjust Character Command Entry: TTL2

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select the text object which needs to adjust the height.

  3. Press enter to finish.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/42971992be298378de96f9e4 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6cd19bb8471041f8d57ddf79

PDF page 14 — additional source text

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Delete Annotation                                                                 
Command Entry: WZOFF

3. Layout Tools

Align Space: Adjust the zoom and pan factor of in the layout viewport based on the alignment points specified in the model space and paper space.

Menu: Express > Layout Tools> Align Space Command Entry: ALIGNSPACE

List Viewport Scale: Displays the scale of the current viewport or of a selected layout viewport.

Menu: Express > Layout Tools> List Viewport Scale Command Entry: VPSCALE

Synchronize Viewports: Synchronize one or more layout viewports to a master layout viewport to have the exact locations matched up. All synchronized viewports use the zoom factor of the master viewport.

Menu: Express > Layout Tools> Synchronize Viewports Command Entry: VPSYNC

Layout Merge: Merges specific layouts into a single layout. All layouts or model are available to be picked, and you can specify an existing layout or enter a new name to create a new layout as the destination layout.

Menu: Express > Layout Tools> Layout Merge Command Entry: LAYOUTMERGE

4. Dimension Tools

Area Table: AREATABLE command automatically dimension and count the area of anenclosed object and export the result to a table in the current drawing area.

Menu: Express>Dimension>AreaTable Command Entry: AREATABLE

The enclosed area or object can be marked with a number or area symbol, and the area table data can be generated at the same time. The area data can be exported to a text or table file. The values in the table can be changed automatically when the number or area size is changed.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fb645404a536fa37c27372ad

Rapid Dist: Measures distance and angle between 2D objects along X, Y axis rapidly by moving mouse.

Menu: Express>Dimension> Rapid Dist Command Entry: RAPIDDIST

Distances that only can be measured along X, Y axis based on the position of your mouse, are displayed dynamically as you move your mouse over and between objects. Angles between the objects touched by distance lines, are displayed dynamically at the same time.

The command only can be used under WCS, and only measure the 2D objects. And the angles of the blocks can’t be measured.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2f9c1d63c07a28b4b542ddd6

Type “Settings” , you can set unit conversion and scale in setting window.

Type “Record” , you can save the current result in command line window, which is convenient to check or copy data to other documents.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/eea80567ac78c05b4d05f53f

Change Dimension Text: Change the dimension content into the specified value.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Change Dimension Text Command Entry: CHGDIMTXT

Command line prompts as follows:

  • Select dimension objects : Select a dimension

  • Currently label content <129.9>, input new dimension text

<practically measure dimension>: Type a new value (130)

Change Dimstyle: Apply the current dimension style to the dimensions in the drawing.

Menu : Express>Dimension>Change Dimstyle Command Entry: Dimstyle

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/66a5ca688bf4301166c7043c

Reset Dim Text Value: Restore a measurement value to overridden or modified dimension text.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Reset Dim Text Value Command Entry: DIMREASSOC

Command line prompts as follows: Select object : Select dimension objects with non-associative text or press ENTER to quit.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a35ab69a7ac4b55133d26a8f Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6044116cd5f95a58a3a5fff9

Update Dimension: Updates any other dimension(s) to the current dimension style you want to apply. Menu: Express>Dimension>Update Dimension Command Entry : DIMUPDATE

Command line prompts as follow:

  • Select a dimension for standard: Select a dimension as a base.

    • Select a dimension, ensure update the dimension style: Select dimension(s) to be update.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8865db45a5b211b4c06c323d

Dimstyle Export: Exports named dimension styles and their settings to an external file.

Menu : Express>Dimension>Dimstyle Export Command Entry: DIMEX

Executing this command, starts the following dialog box: Export Filename: Creates a DIM file. Enter the DIM file name or select Browse to locate the file. If the file does not exist, it is created. If the file does exist, a prompt requests permission to overwrite. The new file is an ASCII file. Available Dimension Styles: Selects the dimension styles to write to the ASCII file. The

current dimension styles are displayed. Each selected style is written to the file indicated in the Export Filename group. Text Style Options: Saves either the dimension's Full Text Style Information or the Text Style Name Only to the ASCII file.

Note

Dimstyles are created and saved with the DDIM command. You must select at least one Dimstyle for the export to be successful.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1aed367396eb38bf66c6670e

Dimstyle Import: Imports named dimension styles from a DIM file into the current drawing.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Dimstyle Import Command Entry: DIMIM

Executing this command, starts the following dialog box:

PDF page 18 — additional source text

Command line prompts as follow:                                                                    
-Select a dimension for standard: Select a dimension as a base.                                           
-Select a dimension, ensure update the dimension style: Select dimension(s) to be update.
Executing this command, starts the following dialog box:                             
Export Filename: Creates a DIM file. Enter the DIM file name or select Browse to locate 
the file. If the file does not exist, it is created. If the file does exist, a prompt requests 
permission to overwrite. The new file is an ASCII file.                                          
Available Dimension Styles: Selects the dimension styles to write to the ASCII file. The 
current dimension styles are displayed. Each selected style is written to the file indicated in the Export Filename group.                
Text Style Options: Saves either the dimension's Full Text Style 
Information or the Text Style Name Only to the ASCII file.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d79bda76f4cbd46e90812b64 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fbbab1f215c79cebfa6ac1c9 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/21671cd916120f965f2a8f61

Import Filename: Names the file you want to import. Enter an existing file name or select Browse to specify a DIM file to import. The file must be of the form generated by the corresponding DIMEX command. All dimension styles in the selected file are imported into the current drawing. Text styles are also imported.

Import Options: Includes Keep the Existing Style, to keep the dimension style in the current drawing and Overwrite Existing Style, to overwrite styles in the current drawing. The Keep the Existing Style option ignores the similarly named style being imported; Overwrite Existing Style uses the similarly named style being imported.

Attach Leader to Annotation: Attach leader line to Mtext, tolerance, or block reference object.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Attach Leader to Annotation Command Entry: QLATTACH

  • Select Leader: Select a leader - Select a dimension: Select the Mtext, tolerance, or block reference object for the annotation.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bbda9137cdb96df5fdf34bb9

Usage Example:

-Select a leader, and then specify the Mtext object to attach. -Separate leader line and Mtext objects. -Leader line with mtext attached as one object.

At the Select Leader: prompt, you will be prompted until you select a leader object or abort the command. At the Select Annotation: prompt, you will be prompted until you select an MText, Tolerance, or Block Reference object for the annotation.

Detach Leaders from Annotation: Detach leader line from mtext, tolerance, or block reference object.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Detach Leaders from Annotation Command Entry: QLDETACHSET

  • Select objects: Select leader line.

Usage Example:

-Select a leader line to detach from an mtext object.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3a9f52b3cb94fe86fb8dbb40

PDF page 19 — additional source text

Import Filename: Names the file you 
want to import. Enter an existing file 
name or select Browse to specify a DIM 
file to import. The file must be of the 
form generated by the corresponding 
DIMEX command. All dimension styles 
in the selected file are imported into the 
current drawing. Text styles are also imported.
Import Options: Includes Keep the Existing Style, to keep the dimension style in the current drawing and Overwrite 
Existing Style, to overwrite styles in the current drawing. The Keep the Existing Style option ignores the similarly named 
style being imported; Overwrite Existing Style uses the similarly named style being imported.
-Select Leader: Select a leader                                                                 
-Select a dimension: Select the Mtext, tolerance, or block reference object for the 
annotation.
At the Select Leader: prompt, you will be prompted until you select a leader object or abort the command.                  
At the Select Annotation: prompt, you will be prompted until you select an MText, Tolerance, or Block Reference object 
for the annotation.

Global Attach Leader to Annotation: Globally attaches leader lines to mtext, tolerance, or block reference objects.

Menu: Command Entry: QLATTACHSET

  • Select objects: Select one or multiple leader lines and annotation objects.

Usage Example:

-Select leader line(s), and mtext objects to attach.

  • Select objects: Select one or multiple leader lines and annotation

  • objects, the command line prompts: Number of unlocked leaders = 2, Number with annotation detached = 2

-Leader with detached Mtext object (Fig 5)

-Leader attached to block object (Fig 6)

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8a2ee7201415f1db78efecca

PDF page 20 — additional source text

Menu: Express>Dimension>Global Attach Leader to Annotation                                                  
Command Entry: QLATTACHSET
-Select objects: Select one or multiple leader lines and annotation 
objects.
Usage Example:                                                                            
-Select leader line(s), and mtext objects to attach.                                                       
-Select objects: Select one or multiple leader lines and annotation 
objects, the command line prompts: Number of unlocked leaders = 2, Number with annotation detached = 2 
-Leader with detached Mtext object (Fig 5)  
-Leader attached to block object (Fig 6)

5. Selection Tools

Get Selection Set: Create a temporary selection set of objects.

Menu: Express>Selection>Get Selection Set Command Entry: GETSEL

  • Select an object on the Source layer: Use a selection set method or press ENTER for all layers. - Select an object of the Type you want: Use a selection set method or press ENTER for all object types.

Fast Select: Selects the object that touches the specifide object.

Menu: Express>Selection> Fast Select Command Entry: FASTSEL

You can input FASTSEL command to select all objects that touch the selected object immediately.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/21b432a92235b7c8eb9e4272

Supported objects include: Lines, polylines, circles, arcs, attribute definitions, text, Mtext, ellipses, and images.

FSMODE: Controls two behaviors of FASTSEL command, default value is OFF.

If FSMODE is turned OFF, when you execute the FASTSEL command, it selects only those objects that are touching the selected object.

If FSMODE is turned ON, when you execute the FASTSEL command, it selects all the objects that are touching the selected object, as well as any objects that are touching those objects. The selection process of all unselected touching objects continues until there are no more unselected objects visible in the drawing area.

Filtrate Selection Select, edit, and name filters for object selection.

Menu: Express>Selection> Filtrate Selection Command Entry: Filter

Select Object Filter dialog box Options:

  1. X, Y, Z Parameters: Defines operators such as < (less additional filter parameters depending on the object. In the filter 2. Select: Displays a dialog parameters, you can use relative box listing all items of the

PDF page 21 — additional source text

operators such as < (less 
than) or > (greater than).                                                    
2. Select: Displays a dialog 
box listing all items of the
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1cb7b8ab5c751aedbf8e26ca

specified type in the drawing. Select the items to filter.

  1. Add to List: Adds the current Select Filter property to the filter list. Filter properties that you add to the unnamed filter remain available during the current work session 4. Replace: Replaces the filter property selected in the filter property list with the one displayed in Select Filter.

  2. Add Selected Object: Adds one selected object in the drawing to the filter list.

  3. Edit Item: Moves the selected

filter property into the Select Filter area for editing. To edit a filter property, select it and choose Edit Item. Edit the filter property and choose Substitute. The edited filter replaces the selected filter property. 7. Delete: Deletes a selected filter property from the current filter. 8. Clear List : Deletes all the listed properties from the current filter.

  1. The filter name is used: Displays, 10. Current: Displays saved filters. Select a filter list to make it current. The named filter and its list of

properties are loaded from the default file, filter.nfl

  1. Save As : Saves a filter and its list of properties. The filter is saved in the filter.nfl file. Names can contain up to 18 characters. 12. Delete Current Filter List : Deletes a filter and all its properties from the default filter file.

  2. Apply : Exits the dialog box and displays the Select Objects prompt, where you create a selection set. The current filter is used on the objects you select.

Get Selection by Block Name: You can use this function to multi-select objects with the same name in specified area.

Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Block Name Command Entry: GETBLKSEL

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select object, specify a block name for operation.

  3. Specify the region.

  4. System will bring all the blocks with same name in region selected area into the selection.

Get Selection by Object Type: You can use this function to multi-select objects with the same entity type in specified area.

Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Object Type Command Entry: GETENTSEL

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command. 2. Select object and system will take the specified entity type as

target type. Then specify region. 3. System will bring all the blocks with same entity type in region selected area into the selection.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/057233a85c3576d78da1cf2b

Get Selection by Layer: You can use this function to select all the objects in specified layer and specified region at one time.

Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Layer Command Entry: GETLAYSEL

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command. 2. Specify an entity which is in the target layer, then specify region. 3. System will select all the objects in specified layer and specified region.

Get Selection by Color: Quick select the objects with the same color. Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Color Command Entry : GETCOLSEL

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select one object and system will take the object’s color as target color. 3. Specify region. 4. System will select the objects which have the same color as the target object automatically.

Get Selection by Object/Layer: Select entities by entity type and layer. Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Object/Layer Command Entry: GETENTLAYSEL

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select one object and system will take the object layer as target layer.

  3. Specify region.

  4. System will select the objects which are in the same layer and with same entity type automatically.

Get Selection by Object/Color: Select entities by entity type and color.

Menu: Express >Selection Tools>Get Selection by Object/Color Command Entry: GETENTCOLSEL Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select one object and system will take the object’s color as target color.

  3. Specify region.

  4. System will select the objects which have the same entity type and color as the target object automatically.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/501ae1c8c039763ae955670a

Get Selection by Layer/Color: Select entities by color and layer. Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Layer/Color Command Entry: GETLAYCOLSEL Operation steps: 1. Start the command.

  1. Specify an entity which is in the target layer. 3. Specify region. 4. System will select the objects which have the same color and same layer as the target object automatically.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/941dab990c36b30d172f97e3

6. Modify Tools

Layer Draworder: Rearranges the layer order to adjust the sequence of the objects.

Menu: Express>Modify> Layer Draworder Command Entry: LAYDRAWORDER

Draworder by Color: Arranges the drawing order of selected objects by their color number.

Menu: Express>Modify> Draworder by Color Command Entry: CDORDER

Break Object: In some industrial application design, sometimes we need to break pipes or cable lines in our schematic drawing to indicate their spatial relationship. Sometimes we also need to break lines at crossing point to make it convenient for the later edit. Break Object tool came from this kind of needs.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/f27834740f97fa8a146cf036

Menu : Express tools>Modify>Break Object Command Entry: BREAKOBJECT

This tool provides four breaking modes with gap distance to visualize the differences between breaking options.

Gap: Indicates the gap value between broken objects

Break all objects selected with each other: This option breaks all intersected objects each other. You can select objects by window selection or picking each object.

Break selected objects with other selected objects: This option breaks all intersected objects by two selection sets (A and B). The objects selected under the first set (A) will be broken meanwhile the objects selected under the second set (B) will be not broken.

Break objects touching selected objects: This option breaks all intersected objects that touch at first instance selected object.

Break selected objects with any objects that touch it: This option breaks the first instance selected object with all intersected objects to it.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e59c54aaee3ddc7efdcab825

Move/Copy/Rotate: Move, copy, rotate, and scales object(s) with a single command.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Move/Copy/Rotate Command Entry: MOCORO

Command line prompts as follow: Select objects : Select object(s) and press Enter Base point: Specify a base point

[Move/Copy/Rotate/Scale/Base/Undo]<eXit>: Once an option is specified

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9a8df4cc7bc44282923b0ca8 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9751cf719307f510296920f6 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bc734f987c5d69af0fc09650 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5158b6f38936a061b7e603eb

Options Move: Move

object(s). Copy: Make multiple copies of object(s). Rotate: Rotate object(s). Scale: Dynamically scale object(s). Base: Specifies a base point for object(s) to be moved, copied, scaled or rotated.

Region Scale: You can select a region of a drawing to be cut and copied to a new location.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Region Scale Command Entry: _REGSCALE

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/35d9db0adce0957e3d43f468

Command line prompts as follow:

Specify left up corner point for full-page proof: Select a region from left up to right down corner

Specify the position to copy: Specify any place you want to copy to the selected region

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b732b09a73718df6ef063ae3

Select the object to Trim or shift-select to Extend or [Edge/Fence/Crossing/Project]: Select objects to trim or press Enter to finish the operation.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1a0b8f278bf9a362780274c2

Input zoom scali n g, the block and text will zoom together <Enter- No Zoom>: Press Enter to finish the operation.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/79f8cff07b001ff8397c615b

Trim Enhancement: Trim one side of an object which is intersecting with other objects. The object can be polyline, line, circle, arc, ellipse, image or text.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Trim Enhancement Command Entry: EXTRIM

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select an object as trim reference, here we select the rectangle for example.

  3. Specify the side to trim on.

  4. Here we select the internal point of the rectangle, you will see that the internal lines of the rectangle are trimmed.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/de4bd62ff6c3f99eadf3a2c1 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e36b9b1c22e2f97c23e23762 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4e7063326d496cb01c426903

Extended Offset: This enhanced version of the OFFSET command offers several advantages over the standard command, including layer control, undo, and a multiple option.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Extended Offset Command Entry: EXOFFSET

  1. . Specify offset distance or [Through] <T>: Specify the offset distance or through point

  2. .Select object(s) to offset or [Options/Undo]: Select an object to offset, change options or undo

  3. . Specify an option to set [Distance/Layer/Gaptype]: Specify an option

EXOFFSET Options:

Distance: Specify the offset distance or through point

Layer: Specify the layer for new objects. Current Layer or Source Object Layer GapType: Sets or changes the offset mode as controlled by the OFFSETGAPTYPE variable. The options are: Normal, Fillet or Chamfer.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/949b46413e77d4d419c29848 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3b72a7beef102e33701409b2 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b47b7d629db556a5d450c7f5

Distance Layer GapType

Multiple Pedit: This command is almost the same as the standard command.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Multiple Pedit Command Entry: MPEDIT

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select object

  3. Specify an option to set [Open/Close/Decurve/Fit/Linetype-mode/Spline/Width/eXit]<eXit>:

Example to close plines:

  1. Select object : select plines which you want to close.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/05333a515c0d173a0a6b27ff Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c281ec12a5bca87e306d25b6
  1. [Open/Close/Decurve/Fit/Linetype-mode/Spline/Width/eXit]<eXit> :Input keyword: C and enter. 3. You will get the plines closed.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bd214aa347157a9e678c9dc5

Delete Duplicate Objects : This function can not only manage overlapped lines, circles, Plines linear objects etc, but can also manage entire coincident blocks, texts, dimensions and regions .Moreover, remove does not simply mean delete, it judges by layer, color, line type and many relevant attributes and can delete or connect coincident parts of 2D and 3D Plines, circles, arcs and overlapping line parts. Using this option can not only delete redundancy objects, but can also avoid editing and printing problems caused by overlapped objects.

Menu: Express tools > Modify > Delete Duplicate Objects Command Entry: OVERKILL

Start the command and the command line prompts as follow: Select objects: Select the objects to be compared and

deleted. In the overkill dialog box, you can set-up the object comparison, comparison precision (distance between objects) and the object type. After selecting the options according to your need, select OK.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c9643d3a288335c4044225c6

Multiple Copy: Copy multiple objects with Repeat, Array, Divide and Measure options.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Multiple Copy Command Entry: COPYM

Start the command and the command line prompts as follow: Select objects: Select the objects to be copied Base point: Specify a base point

Second point or [Repeat (last)/Divide/Measure/Array (dynamic)/Undo] <exit>: Select a second point or any option

Options:

Repeat: Repeat the last copy using the same offset distance. Divide: Linear divide option. Prompts for an additional point and the number of copies to make. Makes evenly spaced copies of the selected objects between the base point and the second selected point

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e85d80401d8127b0a7bc31ed

Repeat Divide

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1d300304ef92c11b46589884

Measure: Linear measure option. Prompts for an additional point and the distance between copies. Makes evenly spaced copies at the specified distance between the base point and the second selected point. Array: Displays the Array Options prompt.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4ef38d53eb9cffd5e36ff41d Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/30c8532948b77aec61580b9d

Measure Array

Layout By Path : Unlike common array function, LayoutByPath distributes object copies along a path (curve) with a variety of array options. Users can choose ra8ndom, division and measure options and array in different directions along the path.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Layout by path Command Entry: Layouthbypath

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8173c38d22f6f29b2d931778

For example, on mapping drawing, we can apply this tool to array the discontinuous central axis of the road or highway as shown in the picture:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/dbe76a6805e435662652f7ea

After started the command Layoutbypath, a message will display in the command line> Please select the object to array:

After select the object, a prompt message will display: Please specify the base point:

The base point is the point where you want to start doing array from the object. We can select the low left end point of this object:

After select base point of the object, a prompt message will display: Specify the object’s direction along the curve<Y axis of WCS>: This message is important because this will play with the object’s direction along the path. Because we select the end low point of the object as base point, we have to specify a parallel point direction to keep the object parallel along the

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/20fc0efad5c771c0cf2c542f Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fd09ac98f2e02a573d5be357

path (long green line):

After specify the object’s direction, a prompt message will display:

Please select the curve:

Then select the long green line. This line is the curve or path

that the object will follow.

After select the curve or path, a prompt message will display: Specify select along which side of the curve <left side or forward

direction>: This message is also important because we will specify the side which the object will be array. For example, we specify left side of the curve as shown in the picture.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/56bb10ff4271e955d9b5a83d

After specify the side of the curve, a prompt message will display: Select the method Random (R) / Division (F) / Measure (D):

There are three options random, division and measure:

Random: This allows to array the selected object along the path in a specify point according to user’s need. Division: This allows to array automatically the selected object along the path by inputting the number of objects. Measure: This allows to array automatically the selected object along the path by inputting the distance value.

For example, if we do not know the distance between objects but we know the objects quantity, we can select the option Division:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/75c3e096666ddf1cd5fbed40

After select the option, a prompt message will display:

Enter the number: And we enter the value 11

After enter the value, a prompt message will display: Pick a point on the curve as start point (Distribute from the end curve when selection is empty): Then pick one of the end points of the curve:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b5e81da8bfbf1a6d5669da8e

After pick the point of the curve, you will get accurate result: And also you can repeat the same array option for the other blue central axis of the road.

Flatten Objects: Converts 3D geometry to a projected 2D representation.

Menu: Express>Modify> Flatten Objects Command Entry: Flatten

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c485d424ba3850790268fd27

7. Draw Tools

Superhatch: Fills an enclosed area or selected objects with a hatch pattern, solid fill or gradient hatch.

Menu: Express>Draw>Superhatch Command Entry: Superhatch

The Superhatch dialog box is displayed:

Image: Accesses the Select Image dialog box to specify the image for the hatch

pattern. Block: Opens the

Superhatch_Insert dialog box to specify the block for the hatch pattern. Xref Attach: Accesses the Select reference file dialog box for specifying an xref file for a hatch pattern. WipeOut: Selects a wipeout object as a hatch pattern. Select Existing : Selects an existing image, block, xref, or Wipeout as a hatch pattern.

For Images:

  1. Open Superhatch dialog box. 2. Click Image… button, choose an image file, the Superhatch Imageraster dialog box is displayed. 3. Pick the OK button in the Superhatch Imageraster dialog box, specify insertion point, scale factor and angle of rotation. 4. The prompt “Is the placement of this IMAGE acceptable? [Yes/No]<yes>”:

  2. Pick a point in the rectangle, press ENTER to finish.

For Blocks:

  1. Open Superhatch dialog box. 2. Click the Block… button to access the Superhatch_Insert dialog box: Block: Click the Block… button to select a block

in the current file.

File: Pick the File… button to select a drawing file as the block 3. Select the block in the Defined Blocks dialog box and press OK. 4. Specify insertion point, scale factor and angle of rotation.

  1. The prompt “Is the placement of this IMAGE acceptable? [Yes/No]<yes>” is displayed. Choose No to Esc. If you
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8f260341ea2387b418f51cbd Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2d543126f507a716bdea4118 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/aeebba57a8c97611b228a843 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/7e4efdfd381ac914e1932c09 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/44a09b0585cde187c9369e8c

choose Yes, GstarCAD will ask you to specify the first point and the next point to place the image. 6. Specify an internal point of the objects for hatch boundary then press ENTER to finish hatch

For WipeOut:

  1. Access Superhatch dialog box and click the Wipeout button: 2. GstarCAD will ask you to specify insertion point to create an area that masks underlying objects

  2. Press ENTER to finish creating the

boundary that masks underlying objects.

  1. As shown in the picture, move the new block to the carpet, the block will automatically cover the object under it:
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c26971e3cf7920e997abfa1e

Breakline Symbol: Creates a polyline and inserts the breakline symbol. The options within this command are provided to control the relative size and appearance of the breakline symbol and an extension of the polyline beyond the selected start and end points.

Menu: Express tools>Draw>Breakline Symbol Command Entry: BREAKLINE

Once start the command, the command line prompts as follow:

Block = BRKLINE.DWG, Size = 1.000, Extension = 1.250 . Specify first point for breakline or [Block/Size/Extension/sPecify line

for breakline]: Specify a point, or enter options

Options:

Specify first point for breakline: Draws break line through specifying its start point and end point.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/cccb81029c95e72d84141bbf

Block: Determines the block to be used as the breakline symbol. Enter the block name for breakline symbol <BRKLINE.DWG>: Enter a block name and press ENTER or press ENTER. If you press ENTER directly, the saving path of the break symbol file will be

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2373f52e2a5b161567902845 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3b23d3d32b49b08737506ed4 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d1198dd9375ab205bbadb886

displayed on the command line.

Size: Determines the size of the breakline symbol. Breakline symbol size <1>: Specify the size of the breakline symbol

Extension: Determines the length of the line extension beyond selected points.

Breakline extension distance <1.25>: Specify the extension distance. Once the start point for the break line or the setup break symbol is assigned, the command line prompts as follows:

Specify second point for breakline: Specify a point

Specify location for break symbol <Midpoint>: Specify the point on the

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/eae67af03e4fa907fee9b027

line segment to specify the location of the breakline symbol, or press ENTER to use the midpoint of the line.

Spline to Line: Converts spline(s) to numbers of straight lines.

Menu: Express tools>Draw> Spline to Line Command Entry: SPLINE2LINE

Once the command is started, the command line prompts as follow:

Select spline or [Set parameters(S)]: Select spline(s) or input “S” to set parameters [The line precision/Starting point (S)<1.00>]: Input a new value bigger than 0 to join precision between segment lines Conversion in a straight line to allow the greatest number of <5000>]: Input a new value smaller than 5000 to number of lines

At first, the system will fit the spline with a segment line which precision (Length) has been specified, if the line’s number needed is more than the maximum number, the system will extend the length of the lines by force, using the

maximum number of lines to fit the spline. Select spline or [Set parameters(S)]: Then select the spline(s) to be converted and press Enter to finish the operation

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/485e97c24bfc5f5bf8aca972 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ba0d7c707355f08b2969a57d Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/7b81014247f94e60c6106987

Spline to Pline: With this tool the SPline created can be converted to a polyline according to the accuracy (number of segments of the arc) that the user assigns. The more specified the segment number is, the higher is the matching degree between the converted Polyline.

Menu: Express tools>Draw>Spline to Pline Command Entry: SPTPL

For example, draw the follow spline sample with 5 arcs as shown:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4099c2c6228045a7af31fea3 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6ec3b1a76cd260e5e1af0e01

After the command SPTPL is started , Please select the object (Spline). After selecting the object, a prompt message will be displayed > Delete the spline? Yes(Y) / No(N): In this case, if we select Yes, this option will delete the spline in place but if we select No, it will keep the spline. After inputting the delete spline option, a prompt message will be displayed > Please enter the number of arcs Non-zero: And we have to input a value higher than zero, for example 8. This value determines the segment number of arcs to be created in the new Polyline.

Line to Pline: This function can convert one or multiple connected straight line(s), arc(s) to one polyline. You can access

from:

Menu: Express tools>Draw>Line to Polyline Command Entry: Line2pl

After starting the command, a prompt message will be displayed> Please enter the join precision: 0 The Join precision will determine the union space between end points of each object. In this case, we will input value 0 to ensure the connection between objects (lines).

After inputting the join value , Please select the objects to be joined and converted to Polyline:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2113ce8d13058d7ada6f507c

And finally, you have successfully created a polyline:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9385352b5660977966da284e Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9e773d8b19b4193c683c0dbe Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/da666985864ffbd262c32a03

8. Tools

Command Alias : This function allows users to add, modify, delete command alias and shell commands.

Menu: Express tools> Tools >Command Alias Command Entry: ALIAS

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command and a dialog box

will pop up.

  1. Select commands to be deleted and click “Remove” button to delete

command alias.

  1. Select the command to be modified and click “Edit” button, a dialog box

will pop up. 4. Click “OK” to finish editing.

System Variable Editor : Allows you to view, save, load and compare system variable settings.

Menu: Express tools> Tools >System Variable Editor Command Entry: SYSVDLG

System Variables Dialog Box Options:

List Box: Displays a list of system variables. The edit field above the list box allows for filtering the list box display based on user input. For example, entering DIM* in the edit field filters the list to display only system variables that start with DIM. If nothing is entered in the edit field, the list displays all system

variables. If more than one system variable is highlighted, all edit and display options are unavailable.

New Value: Displays the current the list box as if SYSVDLG was value of the system variable started. highlighted in the list box and allows you to edit that value. No changes Initial Value: Displays the initial value are committed until the dialog is of the system variable highlighted in closed with the OK button. the list box. This is the value the system variable has in a new Current Value: Displays the value of drawing. the system variable highlighted in

Saved In: Displays where the value of the highlighted system variable is saved. Type: Displays the type of the highlighted system variable; for example, integer, real, string, and so on.

Save All: Saves the current system variable settings to an SVF or SCR

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bd88bb3445876eae5b045ca4 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b091537b58999eff623dd2e7 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/789d92d73b5d354ee7f5ea76

file. SVF files can be read into SYSVDLG and SCR files are AutoCAD scripts that can be run from the AutoCAD command line. The button will display Save All, Save Selected or Save Filtered

depending on the condition of the system variable list.

Read: Restores saved settings from an SVF file. No changes are saved to the drawing until you choose OK. All pending changes can be discarded

with the Cancel button. SYSVDLG will validate new system variable values as they are changed.

Compare with saved: Compares the variables of the drawing with the saved SCR file.

Make Linetype: Creates a linetype based on selected objects.

Menu: Express tools> Tools >Make Linetype Command Entry: MKLTYPE

Once the command is started, the following window will be displayed. You can find the Line files (*.lin) and apply them to the current drawing.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/519e6c26241b33808f94c38f

Make Shape: Creates a shape definition based on selected objects.

Menu: Express tools> Tools>Make Shape Command Entry: MKLTYPE

Break Point Check: It can mark unclosed endpoints among selected lines, polylines or arcs, and close them immediately when prompting that the area is not closed when hatching, calculating areas, or creating regions

Menu: Command Entry: CLOSELINE

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/910f83b1e5ef1625f9b6ff31

PDF page 37 — additional source text

Menu: Express tools> Tools>Break Point Check                                                             
Command Entry: CLOSELINE

9. Table Tools

Table Fill In: You can use this function to fill in the table or edit the texts.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Table Fill In Command Entry: FORMTXT

  • Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Click in the cell or input “Q” and a dialog box will pop up. 3. In the dialog box you can set the text height fashion, just fashion and other text attributes. 4. Click the blank area of a cell and input texts directly. 5. Enter to finish filling in.

Draw Table: This function can help you draw a table.

Menu: Express>Table Tools> Draw Table Command Entry: BGE

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Specify the first point of the table.

  3. The command line prompts. a. Press Q key and the width of the form will increase a little, is used to adjust the horizontal width.

  • b. Press W key and the width of the form will decrease a little, used to adjust the horizontal width. c. Press A key and the height of the form will increase a little, used to adjust the vertical height.

  • d. Press S key and the height of the form will decrease a little, used to adjust the vertical height. 4. You can input the corresponding options to adjust the size of the table. 5. Specify the second point to finish drawing the table.

Merge Cells : This function is similar to merge cells in Excel.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Merge Cells Command Entry: BGH

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9e79f036dfab18647dc99918

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/78b0f0d390364d638124f057
  1. Specify the borderline of the form to merge or the first cell, as shown below. 3. Merging effect as below. And press Enter to finish the command.

Sample1: Specify the borderline of the form

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ccbeb2f7f510e41d4b3b364c Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8a5b5a66c04aa4e8f460b5d9

Sample2: Specify the first cell and another cell

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/314470e5d5168bf7627b17ed Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/83a5ba3560ff85269200c8fd Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6c6dd709e167963400afce4c

Split Cells: This function is similar to split cells in Excel.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Split Cells Command Entry: BGFG

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command. 2. Specify the cell which needs to be split.

  2. Move the cursor, when the rows and columns are a size up.

click the mouse and the cell will be split automatically.

Add Bias : This function can add bias for a cell. Click the start and end point according to the prompts and the system will provide an intersection snap and can easily find the start and end point of the bias, or you can click any area in one cell and the system will find the top left point of the cell automatically, then the system will prompt you to select the end point, you can also click any area in the cell, system will take the bottom right point as the end point automatically, this way, a bias is added in a cell.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Add Bias Command Entry: BGX

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Specify start point, you can click the top left point or click

the blank area in the cell.

  1. Specify end point to finish drawing the bias.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/606e9e93fbacc41e8eee61e2 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/139ca2eec3d1f10f61ab79e2 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/f0fe2abc5d41d6a6b013f683 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2ff91eaa51ffa938facbb95a

Drag Multiple Lines: You can change the row and column width by dragging the line of the table and the corresponding parts of the line will also change. For example, drag the line you selected to the right side and all the lines in the right side will move to the right side correspondingly.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Drag Multiple Lines Command Entry: BGMT

Operation steps :

  1. Start the command.

  2. Specify the line of table for dragging.

  3. Specify the place or distance to drag to (left is positive). 4. Enter to finish moving.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/477ebe4e2a66d56523a309f7 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/aee333a5b88b71cd4c8e7fa0 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ac8483bb633083a326f3a7df

Drag Line: Different to Multiline drag, Drag line will just move the line you selected and other relevant lines will not move.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Drag Line

Command Entry: BGST

Operation steps :

1.Start the command.

2.Specify the line of the table for dragging.

  • 3.Specify the place or distance to drag to (left is positive). 4.Enter to finish the command.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/75b4a512ca8406afb17124dc Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a61627744a57e32603068545 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/86ba7baa31689737ceb64c3d

Drag Segment: This command will not change the lines of the whole table, but just move the side line of a cell.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Drag Segment Command Entry: BGJT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/0209b754a5fbde7dd7d61e46
  1. Specify the line of the table for dragging 3. Specify the place or distance to drag (left is positive). 4. Enter to finish the command (Fig24).

Selection Scale: This function can zoom in and zoom out the whole table base on the point you specified.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Selection Scale Command Entry: BGSF

Operation steps :

  1. Start the command and specify the base point for the line of table.

  2. Move the cursor and the table will zoom.

  3. Drag to a suitable position and click.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8a212967c9f49620f1de4579 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/067b3b1e610fcd7a0d79dcc6 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c2e736129653d2b21ebb01f0

Add Row: This function can add rows to the table.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Add Row Command Entry: BGZH

Operation steps:

1.Start the command.

  1. Specify the position of the new row. 3. The system will add a row below the point you specified.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/548edc12c8e59e69b8a8b590

Add Column: This function can add new columns to the table.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Add Column Command Entry: BGZL

Operation steps: 1. Start the command.

  1. Specify the direction of the new column.

  2. The system will add a new column on the right side of the table.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4f80c2f5caf7a9e3a7080f0e Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6a233207f8d95dcf978e1c99 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d9502c9fb103ffb3365b981e

Delete Row: This function can delete the row of the table you specified.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Delete Row Command Entry: BGSH

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command and specify the cell of row for delete.

  2. The system will delete the row you specified.

Delete Column: This function can delete columns you specified.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Delete Column Command Entry: BGSL

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Specify the cell of column for delete.

  3. The system will delete the column you specified.

Delete Table: This function can delete the table you selected.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Delete Table Command Entry: BGSC

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command and specify the table for delete. 2. Enter to finish deleting.

Text Orientation Adjust: This function is used to adjust the alignment of the texts.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/50b6c32992241767baeb0dda

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Text Orientation Adjust Command Entry: BGJS

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command and select the text for adjust.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8653fbd8374ac50b565f8509 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/71e94eb933a04cb7e39b7088 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/559adb09f1cc4ff61221d917 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/0b5bb77594810c3864910975 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d503d0d08b4851a29f195ff1 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ab79436727b4726568cdd3a8
  1. Press Enter and the command line will prompt the location mode.

  2. Here we input “1” to select left alignment.

  3. The text you specified will align to the left, as shown below.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a87b2e442499b2c781b7ebca

Notice:

  1. This function can only orient and adjust the table text in the TABLE layer. 2. The distance to the table line using left alignment or right alignment has already been set by the program, if you thunk that the distance is not suitable, you can use the GstarCAD command to adjust the distance.

CAD Table to Excel: This command will convert sheets, composed by line/Spline and text/Mtext in CAD, to EXCEL.

Menu: Express>Table Tools> CAD Table to Excel Command Entry: GC_CTE

  • Operation method: 1. Start the command and specify the conversion ratio. 2. Select the table that need to be changed and press enter, the system will automatically open EXCEL after conversion.
  1. Save the EXCEL sheet.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/7abacae24054ea5335324882 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/923ec86526e0313bc6d231a4 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2dad70c7ccbd5e5ed1df49ee

10. Coordinate Tools

Export Coordinate: It is easier to extract coordinate data from dawing with COEXPORT innovative tool.

Menu: Express>Coordinate Tools>Export Coordinate Command Entry: DIMCOORD

You can pick as many points as you need from your drawing and export all the coordinate data to .txt or .xls file. This tool could be applied conveniently on planning, surveying, mapping, and construction drawings.

Execute COEXPORT command and select what format (.txt/.xls) you want to save the file.Then pick all the coordinate points on your current drawing. Each time you pick a point, its data will be automatically storage in the file you selected. To finish the process, press Enter. You can open the saved file and check out all coordinate data (X,Y,Z) extracted.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5736ef02b30af89b6d985e16 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/dd18f0c68b79dad4f66ded08

PDF page 44 — additional source text

10. Coordinate Tools
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e390e28116d8c7c3222c23ae Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3264fd0830ed5cd43080377e

Coordinate Point: Dimensions the point coordinate in the drawing.

Menu: Express>Coordinate Tools>Coordinate Point Command Entry: DIMCOORD

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/927da3ae2a6ab1094c034b5d

Change Z Coordinate: Choose several objects at one time and then change the Z coordinates together.

Menu: Express>Coordinate Tools>Change Z Coordinate Command Entry: CHANGEZ

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/619727d726970066151a4509 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3fe43bea0e425c8e6e982d8c

11. Drawing Tools

Graphic Compare: As we know the drawing compare function in GstarCAD can be used to compare similar drawings containing nearly number of drawn objects to each other, especially to compare different versions of revision drawings.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/89b833624a6e762fd4ae0636

Menu : Express tools>Drawing Tools>Graphic Compare Command Entry: OCMP

Drawing compare can make comparisons between two similar drawings (old DWG and New DWG) and generate them as separate files. After pressing COMPARE button within CompareDwg dialog box, the program will generate and open _old and _new.dwg files, where you can see the differences between drawings.

Drawing Compare can find out differences (drawn objects) and show the result with different colors, e.g. if a line is modified, removed or newly drawn, it will be displayed in different colors.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fa8c7affcf8a38f5edc94cc6 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b381dda4909efe5a141d459f

But there is something else that drawing compare could not accomplish so accurately. Drawing compare can’t insert and show the compared objects on the current drawing working space that you are working at real time. Besides, drawing compare can’t show the details of how the objects were located before they were modified.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/52183f9f25c10a82ef636e3f

PDF page 46 — additional source text

11. Drawing Tools

So the details are very important when comparing objects. Now the new and innovative Graphic Compare tool can do more! It does not only compare two drawingswith similar objects geometry and find out the differences but also display the details of any change at the current workspace of your drawing in real time, e.g. if a line is modified, only the changed part of the line is displayed in different color. The unchanged part remains unchanged.

Graphic compare dialog box

You can invoke the Graphic Compare dialog box by tipping OCMP command at command line or by dynamic input.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6305d397e2b697fd12acdf38

Specify Drawing: Offerstwo options of drawing comparison between select objects on your current drawing or specify files.

Select Objects: Offers two options of objects selection including their base points to be compared. Select base objects and base point: This option allows select all objects, including a basis point as a first selection set to be compared.

Select compare objects and base point: This option allows select all objects, including a basis point as a second selection set to be compared with the first selection set.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/90c81c03cb61f6c6ddc6151c

Specify File: Checkingthis option allows browse two drawing file to be compared known as base and compare file.

Output Drawing: Offers two options of drawing compared output.

Insert current document: This option allows insert the compared set of selected objects on the current workspace.

Export to a file: This option allows output the compared set of selected objects to a drawing file.

Output settings: You can setup properties like layer, color and linetype for all selected objects to be compared to enhance visual differences between them.

Inserting Compared Objects Set into Current Drawing

To insert compared objects set into current drawing, first select the button Select base objects and base point. Then select allobjects as first selection set called base objects and specify a base point for the base objects.Then select the button Select compare objects and base point and repeat all previous process mentioned above.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9a5ba15844462eb0ef06873b Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/aa6a6ab00a4b31a49715f007 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bf74fe33aa55774819d43973

Under Output Drawing, check the option Insert current document . If you want setup visual properties for the compared objects, click Output settings button. After that you can place the compared objects set in a convenient point according your need.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/17e79424e5e74568d28efa3b Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a939447cc2e32d9b39391453

Drawing Compare: Drawing compare is an exclusive function in GstarCAD which is added according to the user’s requirement.

It enhances collaboration by using color-coded displays to show items on a drawing that have been changed, added, or deleted by other members of the design team. Changes to items such as styles, block attribute, object of block can also be tracked. The program will analyze the differences between two drawings automatically. Then the differences will be marked with different colors. Users can also set the marking color by clicking the “option” button.

Menu: Express tools>Drawing Tools>Drawing Compare Command Entry: CMP

Once the command is started, the following window will be displayed:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/42bcae8ba820a6566066cdc6

In this window, you have to browse the old DWG (original drawing) and the new DWG (drawing modified). You can also assign a path to save the compared drawing. Then select the button Option to set-up the comparison parameters.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/51d3cc2a5339cb6c6c1b0882

After setting up the comparison parameters such as: colors, layers, line type, etc. select Ok to confirm these parameters. Note: Pay attention to the mark color because the deleted, modified and added objects will assume these into the compared drawing. Then select the button Compare in the window below to compare both drawings.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a542a3c7383d993a234177be Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/36d3f05769d9bc88c0f7a270 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/291ae309c345056d103d2991

Drawing Lock: Process some objects or the entire drawing into an uneditable state, and add the function of setting a password to lock the objects. The processed drawing can be browsed and printed, but cannot be decomposed or edited.

Menu: Express tools>Drawing Tools>Drawing Lock Command Entry: LOCKUP

After enabling the LOCKUP command, follow prompts are displayed:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5305a5cda1fc677a4cf9ff8c

Objects will not be able to be modified after using this function, would you like to continue? [Yes(Y)/No(N)]: Confirms whether to continue executing the command.

Select Object: Selects objects that you want to lock in the drawing. If any of them is already locked, the “1 was on a locked layer” prompt will be displayed in the command line.

Do you want to create a password [Yes(Y)/No(N)]: Asks whether to add a password after locking objects.

Enter password: Inputs the password you set for the locked objects.

Note
  • The locked objects can be selected as trim boundaries to

  • unlocked objects.

  • The locked objects are turned into a block reference, and

displayed on a temporary layer.

  • The locked objects can be select. A little lock mark displays

when you hover the cursor on a locked object.

  • When executing the ERASE command to delete the locked

objects, the delete command cannot be executed, and the “1 was on

a locked layer” prompt will be displayed in the command line.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2e6557ad5eb525ab60fd32d4
  • Versions that lower than GstarCAD 2023 may can not unlock the objects which locked with password.

Batch Purge (Batch Files Cleaning): This new function allows to batch purge the excess objects such as blocks, layers, line type, dimension style or text style on several DWG files. The Batpurge tool doesn’t need to open files. It executes the command of purge directly, which makes it run with very high efficiency. You can access it from:

Menu: Express>Drawing Tools>Batch Purge Command Entry : Batpurge

After the command is started, a dialog box will be displayed. In this dialog box you can add, select, unselect, clean and start purging objects within DWG files with the following options:

Add Files: Add one or more batch files from the selected path.

Add Folder: Add DWG files from a selected folder.

Select All: Select all the DWG file lists at once. Select None: Unselect all the DWG files at once.

Delete: Delete selected object(s) in the file list.

Clear: Clean all the DWG file lists at once.

Start Purge: Starts purging the selected DWG file list. After purging, GstarCAD will generate a notepad file where you can see the purge details.

Log: After the purge operation is finished, you can Login in to the created notepad file and see the batch purge detail record.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2bef2913a908f90081e52afc

Move BAK: Changes the destination folder for drawing backup (BAK) files.

Menu: Express>Drawing Tools> Move BAK Command Entry : MOVEBAK

MOVEBAK command changes the destination folder for drawing backup (BAK) files. Once you specify a path, the drawing’s BAK files is placed in that path after every save operation.

Enter new value for MOVEBAK, or for none <current setting>:

Enter a . (period) for none or type the folder name

If you enter ".", the MOVEBAK folder name is cleared and new BAK files will be created in the original folder.

12. AutoXlsTable

Create Table: Menu: Express tools>AutoXlsTable>Create Table Command Entry: _CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_CREATE

Operation steps:

  1. In the AutoXLSTable pull-down menu, click Create Table. 2. Create an Excel spreadsheet or open an existing Excel spreadsheet in Excel.

  2. Click Finish button in the AutoXlsTable pull-down menu in Excel. 4. Specify insertion point in GstarCAD.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/75365832c5ffe74714a523c0 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b28e6ae5e22e140b6b20a14e Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/09f304fe712bb8bfbfc436d6

Edit Table: Menu: Express tools>AutoXlsTable>Edit Table Command Entry: _CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_EDIT

  • Operation steps: 1. Click Edit Table. 2. Select a table created by AutoXlsTable in GstarCAD then the Excel file will open.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9d13bbea9dc9551fb9262cee Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/411142a92ada7f1e5a3e423e

PDF page 52 — additional source text

12. AutoXlsTable
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/648862c48dce123f0b4b9a38 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5f429d1ab05fbaaed3da2233

Update Table: Update table whose original Excel spreadsheet was modified.

Menu: Express tools>AutoXlsTable>Update Table Command Entry :_CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_UPDATETBL

Operation steps:

  1. Click Update table. 2. Select the table to update then the table will update automatically according to the relevant Excel.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1ab15957d5105b09e085940d Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/eb7f95d425c579e85496b362

Update All the Tables:

Menu: Express>AutoXlsTable>Update All the Tables Command Entry: CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_UPDATEALLTBL

After executing this command, the system will update all the table objects created by “Create Table” command.

File Link Management: You can use this function to edit, manage the link relation between a table object and an external EXCEL file.

Menu: Express>AutoXlsTable>File Link Management Command Entry: CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_MANAGELINK

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select table object in the drawing and a dialog box will pop

up.

  1. Click the “Browse” button to open the file selection dialog

box.

  1. Select an XLS file which needs to be connected with a table object and click “OK”, then return to the Link Manager dialog
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/61c2ebcc2759717d2811df56

box.

  1. You can use the “Attach”, “Delete” and “Update” button to complete link related editing and management.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6d7a7ba8aabc6a89f92c4907

Path Settings: This function is used to set the path of an Excel file.

Menu: Express>AutoXlsTable>Path Settings Command Entry: CAOT _ AUTOXLSTABLE _ USINGPATH

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d3a6c4909a09d17c48344687

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command and a dialog box will pop up as below. 2. In the dialog box, you can set the path pattern of the Excel file.

Selection Management: You can use this function to calculate objects length and area, when the length and area change, the calculating data will update automatically.

Menu: Express>AutoXlsTable>Selection Management Command Entry: CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_SELECTION

Purpose: use the “Selection Management” function to calculate the area of a circle and a rectangle, when length and area change, the calculating data will update automatically.

  1. Draw a circle and a rectangle as below, use the “Create Table” function to create a table as below.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/354aa3da02d7bdb37d79b4d4
  1. Start the “Selection Management” command and a dialog box will pop up.

  2. Input “CIRCLE” and click the “New Group” button.

  3. Select the circle.

  4. Press enter, the “Selection Management” dialog box will add a new item “CIRCLE”, as shown below.

  5. You can add a “RECTANGLE” item using the same operation as above. 7. Click “Close” to exit “Selection Management”. 8. Use the “Edit Table” command to edit the table.

  6. Click the cell on the right side of “CIRCLE” and click the “Insert Function” icon, as shown below:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bbd1c79e83b66317056d665a
  1. In the dialog box, you can specify the entity as “CIRCLE”, Layer as “All” and click “OK”.

PDF page 54 — additional source text

Menu: Express>AutoXlsTable>Path Settings                                                                 
Command Entry: CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_USINGPATH 
 
Operation steps:                                                                                   
1. Start the command and a dialog box will pop up as below.                                                     
2. In the dialog box, you can set the path pattern of the Excel file.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/43f1c494bd2293041aa0324e Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e10578fe2723665a52f53e35 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4377a8c7b172ede1c3f0bab0 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/147378c25987160a6e63e2dc
  1. Use the same operation to insert the rectangle area calculating function. Then Click the pull-down menu “Finish” option of AutoXlsTabl as shown.

  2. Back to CAD and the table will calculate the area of the

circle and rectangle. 13. Scale the rectangle and the table data will change

automatically.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fd9285875c7ed05b93cebda2

13. GstarCAD Tools

Drawing Scale: You can set the drawing scale before drawing, when you are using other tools (for example “Line Such as Chord” and “Modify Line width”), our software will adjust the scale automatically.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Drawing Scale Command Entry: SASCL

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Input a drawing ratio and enter to finish.

Rotate Cursor: The cursor can rotate anti-clockwise by 0 degree or 45 degree.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Rotate Cursor>0 or 45 Command Entry: RTCUR0/RTCUR45

Side Line: Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Rotate Cursor>Side Line Command Entry: RTCUR1

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command. 2. Select the reference segment and system will align the X axis of the cursor to the selected segment.

Real Time Rotate:

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Rotate Cursor>Real Time Rotate Command Entry: RTCUR

Operation steps:

  1. After executing the command, the command line prompts as below.

  2. You can use the AWSD four keys to control the cursor direction until you are satisfied and press enter.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/17f65dac91e6b75c161ae01a

Draw Axonometric Line: Using this function can easily draw an axonometric drawing.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Draw Axonometric Line Command Entry : SALPL

PDF page 56 — additional source text

13. GstarCAD Tools
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/effa97eb131b17527622995d Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/da7d8a9ab62e56b7a50320e7

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command and input the line width value.

  2. The command line will prompt as below, input corresponding options, you can use it to switch between 0 degree and 45 degree and you can also input any angle value. Then press Enter to finish the command.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1e6ad9ec9961b362d429dd13

Visual Extension: Normally after extension, the extension effect will be displayed, but Visual Extension can display the effect in real time until you confirm the position.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Visual Extension Command Entry: ETT

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command. 2. Select the line that needs to be extended, the system will choose the nearest side you clicked as extension side

automatically.

  1. Move the cursor and the segment will extend in real time.

Normal Connect: The Normal Connect function is similar to zero distance chamfer, it can delete the lines of actual intersection or apparent intersection parts.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Normal Connect Command Entry: GXFILT

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5abd51a8a67dada96ecc12fb

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select the first line segment.

  3. Select the second line.

  4. The result will be as shown in the picture.

Flex Connect: This function can extend or cut down the line to the actual intersection or apparent intersection point.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Flex Connect Command Entry: GXFSS

Operation sample:

  1. Start the command.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/25e6e587279f6ee20d18c799

2. Select the elongation (or shortening) of the line.

Super Fillet: This function can not only do the fillet operation but can also unify the filleted line layer, color and line type and the unified standard will take the first selected fillet object as reference.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Super Fillet Command Entry: SFILLET

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command and input fillet radius. 2. Choose the first segment, as shown below. After executing the command, the layer, color, line type of another line and fillet will match with the first segment. 3. Choose the second segment.

Modify Linewidth: Modify the line width you specified, if what you specified is a line and our software will convert the line to Pline automatically and change the line width. This function is similar to the pedit function, we can use it as a shortcut version and it is very convenient for modifying the line width.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Linewidth Command Entry: LCW

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select the line.

  3. Enter a new line width value and here we input “2” for example.

  4. Enter to finish and the effect will be as shown in the picture.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3b10249e12e3b3ca7f783265

Cross to Break: In engineering drawings, many places need to break the cross line. If we do this the original way, it will be very complex. Using this function breaking lines can be easily done.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Cross to Break Command Entry: CBK

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Specify the occluded line. 3. Choose the occluded (to be disconnected) line and what you selected will be cut off automatically.

  3. Enter to finish the command.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e6bfee48d6bc1fed669d85ea Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e7e44a2ef03985ebdceff296

Control Break Width: This function is used to set break width for cross objects.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Control Break Width Command Entry: CBKWID

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Enter the width of the break space.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bd1af0fb72e5c3cbdf6172c9

Modify Text : In here you can find several tools to modify text properties.

Text Height: Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Text Height Command Entry: TXT40

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select a single line text.

  3. Input text height.

  4. Press enter to finish the command.

Width Factor: Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Width Factor Command Entry: TXT41

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c91abd32abe3b125cf180ad0
  1. Start the command.

  2. Select a single line text.

  3. Input Width height ratio. 4. Press enter to finish the command.

Angle:

Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Angle Command Entry: TXT50

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select a single line text.

  3. Input rotation angle.

  4. Press enter to finish the command.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/51a5f20160531ea2115480e1

Obliquing Angle: Different to the rotation angle, after executing the command, the text will get an inclination deformation effect.

Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Obliquing Angle Command Entry: TXT51

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select a single line text.

  3. Input tilt angle.

  4. Press enter to finish the command.

Options Modify: You can use this function to modify all the options above.

Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Options Modify Command Entry: EDTXT

Super Axonometric: It is a quintessential function that can easily convert a plan drawing to an axonometric drawing.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Super Axonometric Command Entry: ZC

Operation steps:

1.Start the command.

2.Select objects and press enter, as shown below.

3.Enter the axonometric point of view, such as 45 degree. 4.The effect will be as below.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/275fbeaa429ab49759f62b95 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/830f5aafbc0dc83eceb7e3eb Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/39a70478e1a07f2aef19d158

14. Plot Tools

Print PLT: Users can send PLT files to printer for printing.

Menu: Express tools>Plot Tool>Print PLT Command Entry: PrintPlt

Operation Steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Select PrintPlt.exe in the dialog box.

  3. Double-click the PrintPlt.exe file, then the “Print” dialog box will be

displayed, in the dialog box you can select printer or change settings.

  1. Click the OK button, the “Open” dialog box will be displayed and you can select the printed file.

Batch Print: Batch print drawings with the same drawing frame attribute.

Menu: Express tools>Plot Tool>Batch Print Command Entry : BP

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command.

  2. Specify the type of frame. You can select Layer/ Block/ Polyline so that the system can recognize the frame.

  3. Corner select the frame you want to print, you will get a dialog box. 4. Set the print Parameters, click “OK” to execute bath print.

Arrange Frame Automatically: This function can search frames automatically, calculate according to the size of the frame and then arrange several drawings to a big drawing.

Menu: Express tools>Plot Tool>Arrange Frame Automatically Command Entry: FRAMEAR

Operation steps:

  1. Start the command, a dialog box will pop up. 2. In order to get a reasonable drawing plot arrangement, you can choose which industry you want to use in advance. Click “Options” and you will get a dialog box.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/90d6e5d0944390811a00ce64

PDF page 61 — additional source text

14. Plot Tools
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/dcd00e6a1dc38ba621b4331a Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6a94e18fe645b4501cf1d936
  1. Click “Insert files”, an “Add file Manner” dialog box will pop up, you can set the manner you like to add to the file. Folder: This option will add all the DWG files from the root directory to the arranged list, if you check “File that contains subfolders” option and all the DWG files from subfolders will be added to the arranged list. Drawing list: Add specified LST file list. File: Add specified DWG file.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/91884dd977249b3896577b61
  1. After selecting, all the files will be in the list. 5. Click the “Preview” button to preview the arrangement effect. The system will arrange the drawings intelligently according to the frame

above.

  1. If you are satisfied with the effect, you can click “OK”, and then the system will arrange the drawings and insert the drawing frames into the current file.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1b4a830f53200717681a9aa1 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c1c35cf8e1082dd7fbdefc33 Literature/GSTARCAD/2024/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6b5e7051ea6f6fb9ca707527