GstarCAD 2021 Express Tools

Contents

02b8e3ff964aea0198455baf

GstarCAD 2016Activation Guide

(Areasum has been moved to Tools menu from Modify tools, Align Tool and Arrange Tool have been moved to Modify menu)

Draw Tools

Superhatch……………..42

Breakline Symbol………43

Spline to Line…………..45

Spline to Pline………….46

Line to Pline……………46

Pline Boolean…………..44 Cloud Line…47

(Pline Boolean has been moved to Modify menu and Cloud line has been moved to Draw menu from Express Tools)

Tools

Command Alias……………….48 System Variable Editor…………49 Make Linetype…………..……..50 Attach Xdata……………..……50 List Object Xdata………..………50

Table Tools

Table Fill In…………….50

Draw Table……………..51

Merge Cells……………51

Split Cells…………..…52

Add Bias………………52

Drag Multiple Lines…….52

Drag Line…………..….53

Drag Segment……..…..53

Selection Scale…….….53

Add Row….……….… 54

Add Column…….…..……54

Delete Row………………54

Delete Column……………54

Delete Table………………55

Text Orientation Adjust…….55

CAD Table to Excel………..55

Drawing Tools

Drawing Lock………… .58 Graphic comprare……….60

Drawing Compare…….. 59 batchpurge…….. ……62

AutoXLS Table Tools GstarCAD Tools

Create Table……………63 Drawing Scale…….……66 Modify Linewidfth………69 Edit Table……………..63 Rotate Cursor……….…67 Cross to Break………….69 Update Table……….….64 Draw Axonometric Line…67 Control Break Width…….69 Update All the Tables…..64 Visual Extension………..68 Modify Text………….…70 File Link Management…64 Normal Connect…68 Super Axonometric…….71 Path Settings…………..65 Flex Connect…………68 Selection Management…65 Super Fillet……………68

Print Tools

Print Plt……….71 Batch Print…….72 Arrange Frame Automatically…72

Express Tools

The GstarCAD Express Tools contain a library of productivity tools designed to help you extend the power of your design. They are easy to use, easily integrated into your menus and toolbars, and cover a wide range of functions, including dimensioning, drawing, and selecting and modifying objects. GstarCAD Express Tools are organized on:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ac608d404aae972612995b56

Block Tools

Replace Block with Another Block: In the current drawing, you can use one block to replace another one, moreover, you can purge the unreferenced block when the operation is finished.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b581efbefd090ab1e78d3cb1

Menu: Expresstools>Blocks>ReplaceBlock  Command Entry: BLOCKREPLACE

Select a block to replace: Double bed. Then select: OK Select the block to be replaced: Sofa. Then select: OK Purge unreferenced items when finished? Yes/No

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1fbe1156b5419f7bd65296a4 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/79b82206d9317b02e92338d2

See the result below:

Copy Nested Objects: Copy objects in a xref or a block.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Copy Nested Objects Command Entry: NCOPY

Command line prompts as follows:

Select nested objects to copy: Use an object selection method Base point: Specify a point, or enter M for multiple copies Specify second point or <use first point as displacement>: Specify a point

Explode Attribute to Text: Explode blocks, converting value of attributes to text objects.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Explode Attributes to Text Command Entry: BURST

Command line prompts as follows: Select entities: Use an object selection method

For example: Explode attributes and convert them to text objects.

  1. Select a block containing two attributes. 2. Block exploded and attribute values converted to text.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6c684cc02aed3605fbca2e10 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a78591f68948c5514f070b24

Attribute Increment: ATTINC command helps to specify attribute of blocks with incremental value, and to modify attribute value of blocks according to the sort method.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Attribute Increment Command Entry: ATTINC

This command can increase block attribute value that contains a number or letter. When ATTINC command is on, as long as the drawing is not closed, when copying, inserting and deleting a block attribute in the drawing, the property number or letter can be updated automatically.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/7c6a2c8740309b96654e6ff1 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/38ddfc3b6e433f898b753b38 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b6cdda3afea5358ed89ab968

Export Attribute Information: Export block attribute to an external file in tab-delimited ASCII format.Menu: Express>Blocks>Export Attribute Information Command Entry: ATTOUT

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/16e60cbfd551dbab686ac7cf

Once performed ATTOUT command, specify file name and save path in "Enter output filename" dialog box, then command line prompts: Select entities: Specify the blocks whose attributes you want to export.

The block names and attributes are exported to the named file. If the file already exists, you are prompted before it is overwritten. You can easily view attributes in a spreadsheet format and edit individual attribute values. Then you can enter the new values into the drawing file, using the ATTIN command.

Import Attribute Information: Import block attribute to an external file in tab-delimited ASCII format.Menu: Express>Blocks>Import Attribute Information Command Entry: ATTIN

Using ATTIN and ATTOUT together, you can quickly make changes to attribute values for selected block references.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/0323a7563002f6a1244162b6

Once this command is performed, the "Enter input filename" dialog will pop up for the user to search file, import the block attributes along with the same handle and block name into the drawing, and make changes to the block attributes as well.

Once an attribute value is modified, it will be integrated into the specified block. It should be noticed that the imported file can't be attribute file exported by ATTOUT command, whereas the file format should be identical to that of ATTOUT command exporting.

Reads through imported file and processes each line when performing ATTIN command. If the block with the same handle and name is found in the process of treating lines, the modified attribute value of this block will be applied. If several blocks with the same handle and name are found, then system prompts whether to interactively assign saving data when processing these blocks. If "Yes" is selected, the data of each command line will be listed enabling selection of a block to apply this attribute. Press ENTER to skip to next line, press ESC to exit.

Statistics Blocks Number: You can statistics the quantity of various blocks through this function.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b012daaf21278235e939183f Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d0602f90d788e82233d0aee7

Menu: Express>Blocks>Statistics Blocks Number Command Entry: TJNUM

Once this command is performed, its dialog box will pop up. Under Stat. Condition, you can input a block name, layer or check the options: Ignore the blocks in the same insert point and also ignore the scale.

Count Blocks: This function is used to count the number of the blocks by list.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3de4686f48fb60e2d79aa9a7

Menu: Express>Blocks>Count Blocks Command Entry: BCOUNT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command, the command line prompts “Enter to select all blocks or …”. 2. You can press enter to select all the blocks within the drawing or by selecting blocks. 3. Once pressing “Enter” the system will display the result in the command line.

Change Block Color: Modify the block color quickly.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3a79d65fa4cac252dfcad24e Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/f3c03930486e294166874043

Menu: Express>Blocks>Change Block Color Command Entry: bChgCol

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Input new color number, here we input 30 for example. 3. Select block objects, for which the color needs to be changed. 4. Finished modifying.

Change Block Linewidth: This function can modify block linewidth quickly.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/db91b093757d73f84aa664fe

Change Block Linewidth: This function can modify block linewidth quickly.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Change Block Linewidth Command Entry: bChgWid

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9fe54fce2e683716ce0dea51

Paired PDF illustration layout — page 8

847bddd2ef04cc8ec3985ec2

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Input a new line width value. 3. Select block objects, for which the line widths need to be changed. 4. Finish changing the line width.

Change Block Text Angle: This function can change the text rotation angle of the block and it only takes effect on text or mtext, attribute text can’t be changed.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9e6c508f33b402509a727058

Menu: Express>Blocks>Change Block Text Angle Command Entry: bChgAng

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a95006f36707d005244baa6a

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Input new text angle(comparative with @)<0>: input 0. 3. Select the block to change text angle: then Select objects: 4. Finish changing the text angle.

Change Block Text High: This function can change the height of the block, it only takes effect on text or mtext, attribute text can’t be changed.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b3fe92093dbf016b39361126 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fc149af7e6abf198c9051c03

Menu: Express>Blocks>Change Block Text High Command Entry: bChgHei

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Input a new text height value. 3. Select objects whose text heights need to be changed. 4. Enter to finish the command.

Change Block Layer: This function can change the block layer.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c556ed5df572323e64fdda11 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/14f1741de355fb6add3cbcc6

Menu: Express>Blocks>Change Block Layer Command Entry: bChgLay

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Input target layer name. 3. Select block objects to change layer. 4. Press Enter. If the target layer exists, the selected block will be moved to the target layer, if a target does not exist, the software will make a new layer automatically and move the block object to the new layer.

Convert BLOCK to XREF: Replace all instances of a standard block with an xref. Unbind xrefs that are bound.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bd340285536c9d0c0990688a

Convert BLOCK to XREF: Replace all instances of a standard block with an xref. Unbind xrefs that are bound.

Menu: Express>Blocks>Convert Block to Xref Command Entry: BLOCKTOXREF

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/895984b61e1f32a32d2b1eb1 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c46602e921f2c951bb90ff33

-BLOCKTOXREF searches the entire drawing for references to a specified block name and replaces them with an xref that you specify. You can have the unreferenced block purged when done. In BLOCKTOXREF dialog box. Select a block to replace: Table and 4 chairs. Then select OK button.

-In Select a Xref file. Select the Xref you want. Then select Open button. Purge unreferenced items when finished? Yes/No

List Xref/Block Properties: List the type, block name, layer name, color and linetype of a nested object in a block or an xref.

Menu: Express>Blocks>List Xref/Block Properties Command Entry: XLIST

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3326b6f25189e8412b99dd7e

Menu: Express>Blocks>List Xref/Block Properties Command Entry: XLIST

Command line prompts as follow: Select nested xref or block object to list: Use an object selection method. After selecting an external reference, the "Xref/Block object" dialog box will display attributes of specified blocks and xref, including object type, block name, color and linetype.

Trim to Nested Objects: Trims objects with a block as a cutting boundary.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2fd273323456c8617818da99 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8fd129d78f521a87549e0244

Menu: Express>Blocks>Trim to Nested Objects Command Entry: BTRIM

Command line prompts as follow: -Select objects or <select all>: Select one or more blocks and press ENTER. -Select the object to Trim or Shift-select to Extend or [Edge/Fence/Crossing/Project]: Select object(s) or enter an option and press ENTER.

Extend to Nested Objects: Extends objects such as line segment, arc, polyline or ray to a block. Objects would be extended to a block as close as possible if they cannot intersect with each other.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/0a167582e5cc1983492c2cea Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/089194e982e7d84275d301cb

Menu: Express>Blocks>Extend to Nested Objects Command Entry: BEXTEND

Command line prompts as follow: -Select objects or <select all>: Select one or more blocks and press ENTER. -Select the object to Extend or Shift-select to Trim or [Edge/Fence/Crossing/Project]: Select object(s) or enter an option and press ENTER.

External Reference Relocate: With this function, our software can recognize the reference in the drawing and give you the reference state, if you want to select another reference path, click the “Relocate” button and the reference will be displayed in the drawing again.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c654232d0f5ff028ca8c5b80

Menu: Express>Blocks>External Reference Relocate Command Entry: CHGXREFPATHa

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and a dialog box will pop up. 2. Select the external reference name which you want to modify. 3. If you click the “Relative Path” button, you will get a relative path of the reference; If you click “Relocate” button, the system will relocate the external reference.

Block Break: Working with block references that represent symbols are essential in some industrial application drawings like electrical schematics, piping, etc.

But a headache comes when try to place these blocks accurately overlapping or even breaking other objects on your drawing.

Now get rid of this headache with BLOCKBREAK command. This innovative tool is able to wipeout or breaks an object that is overlapped by a reference block.

For example, insome cases we may need to insert block symbols into a cable line in electrical schematic. And normally the cable line is required to be broken by the symbols at where the symbols are inserted. Similar request are also exists in other application designs.

Menu: Express tools>Blocks>Block Break Command Entry: BLOCKBREAK

Block break dialog box:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/eafe2e3e772a1a96d5243b0d

Name: List all available blocks created in the drawing.

Browse: Browse to open specific drawing file.

Pick: You can pick an existing block reference in the current drawing.

Scale: Scales the block reference size according to X, Y and Z coordinates. Uniform Scale option keeps the original size of block reference.

Rotation: You can rotate a block reference by inputting an angle value or keep aligned.

Process Mode: You can use a block reference to break or wipeout objects when overlapping.

Block Break Process Mode Illustration

Break: Breaks background object(s) when a block reference is overlapped.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5f1bcdf92977b5f1371ad8e5

Wipeout: Wipeout background object(s) when a block reference is overlapped.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ebdac890f3cc0deb4362234c

Text Tools

Text Match: TextMatch is a specific tool to match both text and Mtext attributes in the current drawing, avoiding select and edit text attributes one by one.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ba001ccc52a2342e6688b53e

Menu: Text > Text Match Command Entry: Textmatch

After started the command, a message will display in the command line > Select the sample text, Settings (S). If we enter the keyword S (settings) the follow Text Match Settings window will be display. From this settings window, we can see the text matching options such as: Text content, Color, Height, Angle, Align, Layer, Width factor and Style. And also you can select more than one option according to your need.

Content: Match only text or Mtext content from the sample text to the destination object(s). Color: Match only color from the sample text or Mtext to the destination object(s). Height: Match only text or Mtext height from the sample text to the destination object(s). Angle: Match only text or Mtext angle from the sample text to the destination object(s). Align: Match only Mtext alignment attribute from the sample text to the destination object(s). Layer: Match only the text or Mtext layer to which the sample text belongs to the destination object(s). Width factor: Match only the text width factor text frame from the sample text to the destination object(s). Style: Match only text or Mtext style from the sample text to the destination objects(s).

Change Text: When there are several texts in the drawing which need to be modified, it would be much more tedious and inefficient if modify one by one. Change text allows users make bulk modification to several texts. For example, this function can modify the alignment, height, width, position, rotation, style and content of several texts simultaneously. It greatly improves the efficiency of single text and Mtext modifications.

Menu: Text > Change Text Command Entry: Changetext

For example, in a table or part list created, we can apply change text. After started the command, a message will display in the command line: Please select object: Then select the text to be modified, immediately a prompt message will display>Height (H) / Justify (J) / Location (L) / Rotation (R) / Style (S) / Text (T) / Undo (U) / Width (W):

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8645767b68de579c4eaef238

Height: Changes the text height. Within this option there are three more: Single (I) / List (L) / New height for all objects:

Single: This changes the text height one by one. List: This shows the text information such as: Min. and Max. text height and average. New Height for all objects: This changes the height of all the selected text at once.

Justify: Changes the text justification. Within this option there are several more: Align (A) / Fit (F) / Center (C) / Left (L) / Middle (M) / Right (R) / TL / TC / ML / MC / MR / BL / BC / BR:

Align: This aligns text according to a specific point. Fit: Adjust the length of a single text by specifying two points. Center: Justify the context at center of the frame area text. Left: Justify the context at left of the frame area text. Middle: Justify the context at middle of the frame area text. Right: Justify the context at right of the frame area text. TL: Justify the context at top left of the frame area text. TC: Justify the context at top center of the frame area text. ML: Justify the context at middle left of the frame area text. MC: Justify the context at middle center of the frame area text. MR: Justify the context at middle right of the frame area text. BL: Justify the context at bottom left of the frame area text. BC: Justify the context at bottom center of the frame area text. BR: Justify the context at bottom right of the frame area text.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/29335c85b605f15f947bd9b4 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1b8b34948dbba3675053aedf Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/64a04d2c39fc2c00ca015981 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/32e09fe57b5a75b41e2bc21f

Location: Changes the text location by selecting and moving the text frame base point. Rotation: Changes the text rotation according with the input value. Style: Changes the text style by typing the style name in the command line. Text: Find and replace text. Within this option there are three more: Single (I) / Re-enter (R) / Global (G): Single: If you select one or more texts, this will match and change any context within the text selected in sequence (one by one). Re-enter: This retype a new content by typing in the command line and then replace it. Global: If you select one or more text, this will match and change any context within text group selected at once. Undo: Like CTRL+Z, this will undo operation after select any other. Width: Changes the frame area text by entering a new width factor value.

Text Align: As the name describes, this function is used to align text. You can select several texts in your drawing to align along X or Y coordinates, or along a line of specific direction.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9cfd5fb8360c79813e04c1d2

Menu: Text > Text Align Command Entry: Textalign

For example, when we create a table or part list and some contents are not in the correct location, using this tool improves the efficiency of adjusting text. After started the command, a message will display: Please select object: Then select the text(s) to be aligned. After select the text(s), a message will display > Select the align method: X axis (X) / Y axis (Y) / Two points (P): In this case, we choose Y axis align method and then specify a point to align the texts in the correct location. The result as

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c6272c536304d4ba8c3abda4

follow:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fcbc74a5dc6e99229fcac1ba Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/f0a8575f0e4d7337c6332988

Another example, we choose X axis alignment method and then specify a point to align the texts in the correct location (end point of Leader). The result as follow:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fcbc74a5dc6e99229fcac1ba Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2ba73d47035384acde81f46e

And finally, If we choose Two points (P) alignment method for and then specify two points to align the texts in the correct location (start and end point of Leader). The result as follow:

Text on Line: It can distribute the text uniformly along a selected spline, polyline or arc, but this can also create text online quickly for multiple curves.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3ddd9c817e0c0665431b2a34 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b6c339af1cbfe37fe9961503 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2c185b6f132cafb772a281f1

Text on Line: It can distribute the text uniformly along a selected spline, polyline or arc, but this can also create text online quickly for multiple curves.

Menu: Text > Text on Line Command Entry: GC_textonline

Operation steps: 1. Pick the "text on line" icon. 2. Click one certain point on the line as insert point of the character. 3. Input character, here, we input "GstarCAD". 4. Enter the height of the character, here, we enter "3". 5. Select input mode, here we can choose "Breakline" or "wipeout".

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bd38bde1937936c23eb09f35

Breakline: It breaks the line automatically according to insert point and length of the character. Wipeout: Generate one overlay area matched to the length of the character, cover the line with it and put the character in the insert point.

Arc-Aligned Text : You can use this function to create Arc-Aligned Text.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/dd2e606b8627c68000f9939f

Arc-Aligned Text : You can use this function to create Arc-Aligned Text.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/58243b4b5b953901d9b93b67

Menu: Text > Arc-Aligned Text Command Entry: ARCTEXT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select an Arc or an Arc- Aligned Text, as shown below. 3. Input texts in “Arc-Aligned Text” dialog box and set the relevant properties. 4. Click the “OK” button to finish creating Arc-Aligned Text.

Text Mask: Place a mask object behind selected text or mtext. The rectangular mask is offset from the text by a specified value.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fe038cacd6793dd6fd7ccc2a

Menu: Text > Text Mask Command Entry: TEXTMASK

Command line prompts as follows: -Current settings: Offset factor = 0.500000, Mask type = Solid, Mask color = 150 -Select text objects to mask or [Masktype/Offset]: Select an option or text or press ENTER to exit.

Text objects are grouped together with the mask objects so that they are moved, copied and erased together. To update the mask after editing the text, run TEXTMASK again, and select the text item to be updated.

Masktype: Mask type currently set to Solid Specify entity type to use for mask [3dface/Solid] <Solid>: Specify a type to use for mask.

3DFACE option: Places a 3D Face behind the text. SOLID option: Masks with a 2D solid in a specified color. WIPEOUT option: Places the mask in front of the text. Offset: Specify offset distance between shielded entity and text object. Enter offset factor relative to text height <0.500000>: Specify a value, or select points to set the mask size.

Unmask Text: Removes mask from text that has been masked with the TEXTMASK command

Menu: Text > Unmask Text Command Entry: TEXTUNMASK

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/aa87dc515d319873df30e3f0

Command line prompts as follow: -Select text or MText object from which mask is to be removed. -Select object: Use an object selection method.

Make RText: We can use RText function to display the content of a text file or the calculation results of a DIESEL expression in the drawing.

Menu: Text > Make RText Command Entry: RTEXT

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bd3437e3b6e6f828cd5ccb9e

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and command line prompts.

Options: Style: Select a text style.  Height: Specify a text height. Rotation: Specify a rotation value. File: Use an external text file.  Diesel: Use DIESEL code.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/31574e80588f252e54595c60 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a129aeaa8717783a8665a118
  1. Capital letters “S”, “H” or “R” are used to set text style, text height, text rotation; If you enter “F”, a dialog box will pop up and you can select a text file(*.txt) as RText display object. While the content of text file is changing, the RText is also changing automatically. If you select “Diesel” and a dialog box will pop up, the calculation results of a DIESEL expression can be displayed in the drawing. 3. Input Diesel expression, here for example we input (getvar,"dwgprefix")(getvar, "dwgprefix")(getvar, "dwgname") as shown below. The expression means to get current path. 4. Select insertion point to insert RText object. 5. Finish creating RText object.

Change RText: Allows you to edit existing remote text (Rtext) objects in the drawing.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3fbf41a71efda2b2e3ee98d9

Menu: Text > Change RText Command Entry: RTEDIT

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bb0413a814815286b6eed8a7

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select an Rtext object. 3. You can enter the option to be modified, system will prompt several options. 4. Input “S” can specify text style; Input “H” can input text height value directly; Input “R” can specify text rotation angle; Input “E” will pop up a dialog box. 5. Finish modifying Diesel expression and click “OK”.

Text Fit: Stretches or shrinks text object(s) by selecting new start and/or end points.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3b16991e62c616089c7ed6b2 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e439f59586bef45c277ff7de

Menu: Text > Text Fit Command Entry: TEXTFIT

Command line prompts as follow:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/970df2d4231d3e1856293d62

-Select Text to stretch/shrink: -Specify end point or [Start point]: Specify a new end point, or enter S to specify a new start point. Note: The default uses the text's justification as the start point. If a new start point is specified, prompts are displayed to specify new points.

Extended Text Editor: This function is a specific function of GstarCAD, you can input some particular texts, for example, subscript text, single underline, double underline text and some special symbols and also you can set row spacing, alignment, text height and other parameters, moreover it can input and output *.txt document. This function improves the CAD text editing ability greatly.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a54100f2596de759dd5477da

Menu: Text > Extended Text Editor Command Entry: MMTEXT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and a dialog box will pop up. 2. Input corresponding texts in the dialog box. 3. Click “OK” to finish creating texts.

Enclose Text with Object: Place a circle, a slot, or a rectangle around each selected text or mtext object. The diameters of the circles can be constant or fitted to each object. The width and height of the slots and rectangles can be constant or variable.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a0050ca116f70a33a3e60297

Menu: Text > Enclose Text with Object Command Entry: TCIRCLE

Usage Example: -Circles: Constant radius( Fig 1). -Circles: Variable radius( Fig 2).

Automatic Text Numbering: Adds sequential numbering to text objects. The numbering can appear as a prefix, suffix or replacement text. After selecting one or multiple texts, you can set the text sorting method, the starting number and increment of text sorting and generated numbers placement mode.

Menu: Text > Automatic Text Numbering Command Entry: TCOUNT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select TEXT, MTEXT or ATTDEF objects. 3. Sort selected objects by [X/Y/Select-order]

X: Places numbers by increasing the x-coordinate value of the selected text.  Y: Places numbers by decreasing the y-coordinate value of the selected text.  Select-order: Places numbers according to the order in which the text was selected. After specifying the method of order, the following prompts will be displayed in the command line.

  1. Specify starting number and increment (Start increment) <1,1>: Enter the starting number and increment, separated by a comma, or press ENTER. Note: Negative increments (decrements) are supported. Precede decrements with a minus sign.

  2. Specify the placement of numbers in text [Overwrite/Prefix/Suffix/Find&replace..] < Prefix>:, Enter an option or press ENTER

Overwrite: Replaces selected text strings with numbers. Prefix: Adds the number as a prefix to text. Suffix: Adds the number as a suffix to text. Find&replace: Replaces a user specified text string with a number

Usage Example:

  1. Starting number = 1, increment = 1 added as prefix: 2. Starting number = 20, increment = -10 added as suffix: 3. Starting number = 2, increment = 2, Overwrite:
Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e7de6efbab5d592ecd1d2cec Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6ce1243113df5a2833708945 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6142b9649db429e9f427a06e

Text Incremental Copy: This command can accomplish kinds of incremental methods for text.

Menu: Text > Text Incremental Copy Command Entry: GC_dztext

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2a0d5dd86437081ab579ffd6

The incrementation dialog box is displayed: Distance: Specify incremental Distance, you can input value directly or single click the button on the right to specify by the crosshair. Amount: If do not specify Amount, the system will calculate the amount according to the initial points of the crosshair. Incrementation: Specify the incrementation.

Select Incremental Object: If there are mixed letter cases and numbers in the text, user can specify different incremental objects.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/86687d3b0f7ab261582c9532
  1. Open Text Incremental Copy. 2. Select the incremental objects. 3. Set incremental methods, the completed incrementation effect is displayed.

Free Incremental: It is used when the Incremental Copy location is relatively free, for example: number of spare parts in the assembly drawing.

  1. Open Text Incremental Copy. 2. Do not select Distance or Amount, please set incrementation as you need. Then select the text. 3. Specify incremental text location.

Distance only: It is used if the distance of incremental text is fixed, for example: number column in the form.

  1. Open Text Incremental Copy. 2. Select Distance and do not select Amount, please specify Incrementation and Distance as you need. You can input value directly or single click the button on the right to specify by the crosshair. Then Select the text. 3. Specify incremental distance and direction. The system will automatically calculate the amount according to the initial points of the crosshair.

Amount only: It is used when you know the incremental amount and do not know the incremental distance.

  1. Open Text Incremental Copy. 2. Select Amount and don't select Distance, please specify the Incrementation and Amount as you need. Then select the text. 4. Specify the incremental distance and direction. The system will place the incremental text between initial points of the crosshair as below:

Distance and Amount: You can fix the Amout and Distance first, and use the crosshair to specify the incremental direction.

Scale: This command can be used for single line text and multiline text, you can specify scale center and text height with this command.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/57a78f3e1e4b81a5d9707737

Menu: Text > Scale Command Entry: SCALETEXT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select objects which need to scale. 3. Specify scale center. 4. Specify the text height and Press enter to finish scaling.

Text Outline: Text Outline function will split more thoroughly, after processing, texts are no longer words, but lines. When editing single line fonts, precision can be set to 1, set to higher numerical will make text warp, using truetype font from operating system, you can increase accuracy appropriately. The higher the accuracy, the shorter segments you will get, so you will get more segments.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9112a5fed491874d078e9954

Menu: Text > Text Outline Command Entry: EXPLODETEXT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select objects to explode. 3. Press enter to finish. The text will break up into outline.

Justify Text: Change a text object's justification without changing its position. Works with text, mtext, and attribute definition objects.

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Justify Text Command Entry: TJUST

Select objects: Use an object selection method. [Start/Center/Middle/Right/TL/TC/TR/ML/MC/MR/BL/BC/BR] <Start>: Choose the new justification

Usage Example: Covert text to middle justified  -Text left justified. -Text after justification change.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/091fe11104b941f29b09b23c Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b5892ed0c7151bc6c30f9af9

Rotate Text: Aligns text, mtext and block attribute objects to new orientation. Rotates text, mtext, and attribute definition objects so that they end up being as close as possible to horizontal or right-read (similar to the behavior of dimension text). Objects are rotated about their middle point in 180-degree increments. For example, if the text is upside-down, it becomes right-side up after a TORIENT operation. Similarly, left-read text becomes right-read text.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/22833bc5ec4890b4663fe887 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2681bfd7e3ec6371ecce975f

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Rotate Text Command Entry: TORIENT

-Select objects: Use an object selection method -New absolute rotation <0>:Enter a new absolute orientation angle for all selected text. Usage Example: -Text before rotation (Fig 3) -Text after rotation specified angle of 0 degrees (Fig 4)

Fig 3 Fig 4

Document Input: This function can input document(*.txt)to the drawing directly.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6b0c2ed19bbe602c20efeb3f

Menu: Text > Document Input Command Entry: WJSR

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and a dialog box will pop up. 2. Select a TXT file. 3. Specify the insert point of the first line text. 4. Specify the height of text. 5. Specify line space. 6. Press enter to finish inputting.

Convert Text to Mtext: Convert one or more normal text objects to Mtext.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/83585d758709dda33dd3956d

Convert Text to Mtext: Convert one or more normal text objects to Mtext.

Menu: Text > Convert Text to Mtext Command Entry: TXT2MTXT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select objects: Here we select two text objects and convert them to Mtext object. 3. 1 Text objects removed, 1 MText object added.

Change Text Case: Changes the case of selected text, mtext, attributes and dimension text.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/dd82022a32156e659789fe55

Menu: Text > Change Text Case Command Entry: TCASE

Command line prompts as follow: -Select object: Use a selection method to select annotation objects. -Execute this command, start "TCASE - change text case" dialog box, select an option.

Change Text Style: This function can change current text style for specified text and single line text, multiline texts are available.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/7086153ae3e220a423d6dde6

Change Text Style: This function can change current text style for specified text and single line text, multiline texts are available.

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Change Text Style Command Entry: CHGSTY

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the text to change text style and you can modify several objects at a time. Then Press enter to finish the command.

Chinese Characters Split: This function can split single line texts to single text one by one, because the English word is a combination of several letters, this function only make sense for Chinese Characters.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/603df12524ee776d5feec595

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Chinese Characters Split Command Entry: HZCF

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the text to be split. 3. Press enter to finish splitting.

Character Break: Menu: Express > Text Tools > Character Break Command Entry: WZDD

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the text to break. 3. Specify the position for the break.

Change Character: This function can continuously revise multiple text objects, single line and Mtext are applicable.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/401624ce638ff447eac413dc

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Change Character Command Entry: _DDEDIT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the text to be replaced. 3. Input characters to replace and press Enter to finish.

Change One Character: This function can change texts in selected single line texts, you can just input characters to be replaced and characters to replace according to the prompts, Moreover it can be used in several single line texts at the same time.

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Change One Character Command Entry: CHGTXT

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/be08869181745540a0d0b401

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the text to be replaced. 3. Input the characters to be replaced. 4. Input characters to replace. 5. Press enter to finish.

Change Text Height/Width/Angle/Position: This function is used to modify text height, text width, text angle and text position. You can click or select characters by window selection.

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Change Text Height/Width/Angle/Position Command Entry: TXTHEI / TXTWID / TXTANG / TXTPOS

Delete Annotation: This function is based on this kind of circumstance, you can select one text annotation to be deleted , the software will register all the annotations in one layer, you can just press enter and all the text annotations will be deleted or you can select the texts by window selection and it will not affect the texts of other layers.

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Delete Annotation Command Entry: WZOFF

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify a text annotation to be deleted. At this time you only specify the operation layer, if you directly press enter, the entire layer single texts will be deleted. 3. Select annotations to be deleted (you can select several objects by window selection) and press enter to finish.

Adjust Character: When the texts are mixed with Chinese characters, English letters and Arabic numerals, the text height will be different and the visual effect is not good. You can use this function to match the text height, but this function will explode the text's and it will be difficult to re-edit, so we suggest using this function after the user finished editing the drawing.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6834dbae46f587d6ba652d40 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/26f67c45d0ed9353ca849853

Menu: Express > Text Tools > Adjust Character Command Entry: TTL2

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the text object which needs to adjust the height. 3. Press enter to finish.

Dimension Tools

Area Table: AREATABLE command automatically dimension and count the area of anenclosed object and export the result to a table in the current drawing area.

Menu: Express>Dimension>AreaTable

Command Entry: AREATABLE

The enclosed area or object can be marked with a number or area symbol, and the area table data can be generated at the same time. The area data can be exported to a text or table file. The values in the table can be changed automatically when the number or area size is changed.

dd2dcae84ea2053d5a7209bd

Change Dimension Text: Change the dimension content into the specified value.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5ff2986cf8351c17670ac4a4

Change Dimension Text: Change the dimension content into the specified value.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Change Dimension Text Command Entry: CHGDIMTXT

Command line prompts as follows: -Select dimension objects: Select a dimension -Currently label content <129.9>, input new dimension text <practically measure dimension>: Type a new value (130)

Change Dimstyle: Apply the current dimension style to the dimensions in the drawing.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/92d78728c3e8fc8f0ee22195

Change Dimstyle: Apply the current dimension style to the dimensions in the drawing.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Change Dimstyle Command Entry: Dimstyle

Reset Dim Text Value: Restore a measurement value to overridden or modified dimension text. Menu: Express>Dimension>Reset Dim Text Value Command Entry: DIMREASSOC

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/61f318e3f417915265aff5bc

Reset Dim Text Value: Restore a measurement value to overridden or modified dimension text. 

Menu: Express>Dimension>Reset Dim Text Value Command Entry: DIMREASSOC

Command line prompts as follows: Select object: Select dimension objects with non-associative text or press ENTER to quit.

Update Dimension: Updates any other dimension(s) to the current dimension style you want to apply. Menu: Express>Dimension>Update Dimension Command Entry: DIMUPDATE

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e69c47e365a9c168eb76fdd6

Command line prompts as follow: -Select a dimension for standard: Select a dimension as a base. -Select a dimension, ensure update the dimension style: Select dimension(s) to be update.

Dimstyle Export: Exports named dimension styles and their settings to an external file.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/09fe6a5af3d6b09aae84c62b

Menu: Express>Dimension>Dimstyle Export Command Entry: DIMEX

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2fc5b4536fe08d975edd93c0

Executing this command, starts the following dialog box: Export Filename: Creates a DIM file. Enter the DIM file name or select Browse to locate the file. If the file does not exist, it is created. If the file does exist, a prompt requests permission to overwrite. The new file is an ASCII file. Available Dimension Styles: Selects the dimension styles to write to the ASCII file. The current dimension styles are displayed. Each selected style is written to the file indicated in the Export Filename group. Text Style Options: Saves either the dimension's Full Text Style Information or the Text Style Name Only to the ASCII file.

Note

Dimstyles are created and saved with the DDIM command. You must select at least one Dimstyle for the export to be successful.

Dimstyle Import: Imports named dimension styles from a DIM file into the current drawing.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Dimstyle Import Command Entry: DIMIM

Executing this command, starts the following dialog box:

ae600009abc8bf0abc57b7fc

Import Filename: Names the file you want to import. Enter an existing file name or select Browse to specify a DIM file to import. The file must be of the form generated by the corresponding DIMEX command. All dimension styles in the selected file are imported into the current drawing. Text styles are also imported.

Import Options: Includes Keep the Existing Style, to keep the dimension style in the current drawing and Overwrite Existing Style, to overwrite styles in the current drawing. The Keep the Existing Style option ignores the similarly named style being imported; Overwrite Existing Style uses the similarly named style being imported.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4e3e7acb4c1003f83eebf7df

Attach Leader to Annotation: Attach leader line to Mtext, tolerance, or block reference object.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Attach Leader to Annotation Command Entry: QLATTACH

-Select Leader: Select a leader -Select a dimension: Select the Mtext, tolerance, or block reference object for the annotation.

Usage Example: -Select a leader, and then specify the Mtext object to attach. -Separate leader line and Mtext objects. -Leader line with mtext attached as one object.

At the Select Leader: prompt, you will be prompted until you select a leader object or abort the command. At the Select Annotation: prompt, you will be prompted until you select an MText, Tolerance, or Block Reference object for the annotation.

Detach Leaders from Annotation: Detach leader line from mtext, tolerance, or block reference object.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Detach Leaders from Annotation Command Entry: QLDETACHSET

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fb296bbb5446d35163e4b71c

-Select objects: Select leader line.

Usage Example: -Select a leader line to detach from an mtext object.

Global Attach Leader to Annotation: Globally attaches leaders line to mtext, tolerance, or block reference objects.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Global Attach Leader to Annotation Command Entry: QLATTACHSET

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8e975e124213f24db7ce7418

-Select objects: Select one or multiple leader lines and annotation objects.

Usage Example: -Select leader line(s), and mtext objects to attach. -Select objects: Select one or multiple leader lines and annotation objects, the command line prompts: Number of unlocked leaders = 2, Number with annotation detached = 2 -Leader with detached Mtext object (Fig 5)  -Leader attached to block object (Fig 6)

Rapid Dist : Rapid distance can measures distance and angle between 2D objects along X, Y axis rapidly by moving mouse.

Menu: Express>Dimension>Rapid Dist Command Entry: RAPIDDIST

Distances that only can be measured along X, Y axis based on the position of your mouse, are displayed dynamically as you move your mouse over and between objects. Angles between the objects touched by distance lines, are displayed dynamically at the same time.The command only can be used under WCS, and only measure the 2D objects. And the angles of the blocks can’t be measured.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e4b720d74feea9c3ca7f1175

Distances that only can be measured along X, Y axis based on the position of your mouse, are displayed dynamically as you move your mouse over and between objects. Angles between the objects touched by distance lines, are displayed dynamically at the same time.The command only can be used under WCS, and only measure the 2D objects. And the angles of the blocks can’t be measured.

Type “Settings”, you can set unit conversion and scale in setting window.

Type “Record”, you can save the current result in command line window, which is convenient to check or copy data to other documents.

3ef5f2565969f8ebd4e26343 89a572f24bd2ae05678a373e

Selection Tools

Get Selection Set: Create a temporary selection set of objects.

Menu: Express>Selection>Get Selection Set Command Entry: GETSEL

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a678b2155001fea13fad3758

-Select an object on the Source layer: Use a selection set method or press ENTER for all layers. -Select an object of the Type you want: Use a selection set method or press ENTER for all object types.

Select Filter: Select, edit, and name filters for object selection.

Menu: Express>Selection>Select Filter Command Entry: Filter

Select Object Filter dialog box Options:

  1. X, Y, Z Parameters: Defines additional filter parameters depending on the object. In the filter parameters, you can use relative operators such as < (less than) or > (greater than). 2. Select: Displays a dialog box listing all items of the specified type in the drawing. Select the items to filter. 3. Add to List: Adds the current Select Filter property to the filter list. Filter properties that you add to the unnamed filter remain available during the current work session unless you manually delete them. 4. Replace: Replaces the filter property selected in the filter property list with the one displayed in Select Filter. 5. Add Selected Object: Adds one selected object in the drawing to the filter list. 6. Edit Item: Moves the selected filter property into the Select Filter area for editing. To edit a filter property, select it and choose Edit Item. Edit the filter property and choose Substitute. The edited filter replaces the selected filter property. 7. Delete: Deletes a selected filter property from the current filter. 8. Clear List: Deletes all the listed properties from the current filter.

  2. The filter name is used: Displays, saves, and deletes filters. 10. Current: Displays saved filters. Select a filter list to make it current. The named filter and its list of properties are loaded from the default file, filter.nfl 11. Save As: Saves a filter and its list of properties. The filter is saved in the filter.nfl file. Names can contain up to 18 characters. 12. Delete Current Filter List: Deletes a filter and all its properties from the default filter file. 13. Apply: Exits the dialog box and displays the Select Objects prompt, where you create a selection set. The current filter is used on the objects you select.

Get Selection by Block Name: You can use this function to multi-select objects with the same name in specified area.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/03319a284e4a037dfbd50157

Get Selection by Block Name: You can use this function to multi-select objects with the same name in specified area.

Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Block Name Command Entry: GETBLKSEL

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select object, specify a block name for operation. 3. Specify the region. 4. System will bring all the blocks with same name in region selected area into the selection.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5cb505e97e53ec143f9c062c

Get Selection by Object Type: You can use this function to multi-select objects with the same entity type in specified area.

Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Object Type Command Entry: GETENTSEL Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select object and system will take the specified entity type as target type. Then specify region. 3. System will bring all the blocks with same entity type in region selected area into the selection.

Get Selection by Layer: You can use this function to select all the objects in specified layer and specified region at one time.

Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Layer

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2f48b56aec535ef161f8bae6

Command Entry: GETLAYSEL

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify an entity which is in the target layer, then specify region. 3. System will

select all the objects in specified layer and specified region.

Get Selection by Color: Quick select the objects with the same color. Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Color Command Entry: GETCOLSELOperation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select one object and system will take the object’s color as target color. 3. Specify region. 4. System will select the objects which have the same color as the target object automatically.

Get Selection by Object/Layer: Select entities by entity type and layer. Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Object/Layer Command Entry: GETENTLAYSELOperation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select one object and system will take the object layer as target layer. 3. Specify region. 4. System will select the objects which are in the same layer and with same entity type automatically.

Get Selection by Object/Color: Select entities by entity type and color. Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Object/Color Command Entry: GETENTCOLSEL Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select one object and system will take the object’s color as target color. 3. Specify region. 4. System will select the objects which have the same entity type and color as the target object automatically.

Get Selection by Layer/Color: Select entities by color and layer. Menu: Express>Selection Tools>Get Selection by Layer/Color Command Entry: GETLAYCOLSELOperation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify an entity which is in the target layer. 3. Specify region. 4. System will select the objects which have the same color and same layer as the target object automatically.

Modify Tools

Align Tool: Allows align selected objects such as: rectangle, circle, line, spline, arc, pline, block and even 3D model object along X or Y axis coordinates. This tool has different alignment methods, includes offset option for each axis and can be combined as well. Menu: Express tools>Modify>Align Tool Command Entry: Aligntool

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d322807ddc0b359aabc20d56

There are several align tool options within align tool window. All the options are design-intent to align objects X and Y axis as a reference.

1.- Left object X axis Align: Aligns the selected object(s) at left side X axis. 2.- Center object X axis Align: Aligns the selected object(s) at central side X axis. 3.- Right object X axis Align: Aligns the selected object(s) at right side X axis. 4.- X offset: Offset object(s) after select any X axis alignment option. 5.- Top object Y axis Align: Aligns the selected object(s) upwards Y axis. 6.- Center object Y axis Align: Aligns the selected object(s) at central side Y axis. 7.- Bottom object Y axis Align: Aligns the selected object(s) downwards Y axis. 8.- Y offset: Offset object(s) after select any Y axis alignment option. 9.- Specified object: Aligns the selected object(s) to a specific object or any end point of it, after select any X or Y axis alignment option. 10.- Specified point: Aligns the selected object(s) to a specific point of the second selected object, after select any X or Y axis alignment option. 11.- Selection boundary: This option is by default when you select any X or Y alignment option.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bafdff6f2b530b3c61cf885e

We can apply this tool to align a quantity objects (columns) in the correct place. Also notice that the objects are not aligned at same position each other, and also these are independent blocks. We will perform Top object Y axis alignment and specified object. After started the command Aligntool, a prompt message will display > Please select the object to align: Then select the objects in any order you want:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fe89d3ed43c644825260314e

After you have selected the objects, the Align tool settings window will pop up: first we have to check the option Top object under Y axis alignment. After check this option the objects (columns) will be aligned at same level:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/97690655c89690a3838b2832

After the objects have been aligned, we have to select the option specified object under Align to. Then select the object (blue line) where we want to align and place the objects. Finally you will get a faster result performing this operation:

Arrange Tool: ArrangeTool can quickly adjust the arrangement of multiple objects. It can align multiple objects at left, right, top, bottom and center and also can arrange vertical or laterally.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2ddbe422e095bb1526170b3a

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Arrange Tool Command Entry: ARRANGETOOL

For example, ArrangeTool makes the bearings evenly distributed in the shaft. ArrangeTool supports real-time preview when user adjusts the parameters. In addition it supports distribution specifies.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c9e97de3caffcd63e1fa58b5

There are several arrange tool options within arrange tool window. All the options are design-intent to arrange object’s position horizontally or vertically. This tool can work at least with 2 or more objects selected.

1.-Left horizontal arrangement: Arranges selected objects horizontally, taking leftmost object as arrangement reference. 2.-Middle horizontal arrangement: Arranges selected objects horizontally in two ways (top or bottom left object). 3.-Nearest side horizontal arrangement: Arranges selected objects horizontally to the nearest side object taking top left object as reference. 4.-Right horizontal arrangement: Arranges selected objects horizontally, taking right edge of the leftmost object as arrangement reference. 5.-Top vertical arrangement: Arranges selected objects vertically, taking top object as arrangement reference. 6.-Middle vertical arrangement: Arranges selected objects vertically, taking middle of the top object as arrangement reference. 7.-Nearest side vertical arrangement: Arranges selected objects vertically to the nearest side object taking top object as reference. 8.-Right vertical arrangement: Arranges selected objects vertically, taking bottom edge of the top object as arrangement reference. 9.-Specify spacing: Can be combined with any horizontal and vertical options. Also you can input a value for column in horizontal objects arrangement and raw for vertical objects arrangement. 10.-Specify region: Can be combined with any horizontal and vertical options by specifying the start and end points of the new region. Then, the objects selected will be arranged according to the new region. 11.-Selection boundary: After selecting objects, the arrange tool dialog box pop up, this option is selected by default, so just you need to select any horizontal or vertical arrangement option. And the objects selected will be arranged horizontally or vertically and equidistant each other according to the boundary.

Remarks: Under Specify spacing there are 2 titles: Raw and Column. Raw value only works if we combine it with any vertical arrangement option. And Column value works with any horizontal arrangement option.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/776fd77fd4037270ef7a98e3

For example, we can apply this for arrange the part numbers distribution over the leader lines. Notice that the objects to be selected are Mtext and will be distributed according to the top object level as a reference. After started the command, a prompt message will display > Please select the object to arrange:

Then select the part numbers. After select the part numbers, the arrange tool window will pop up, select the option: Specify spacing and then check or select the option: Top vertical arrangement. See the result below:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/0ca1cc7579c55b9dfcf62ee4

Layout By Path: Unlike common array function, LayoutByPath distributes object copies along a path (curve) with a variety of array options. Users can choose ra8ndom, division and measure options and array in different directions along the path.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Layout by path Command Entry: Layouthbypath

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/05a8c81b61dbe8035bb897c2

For example, on mapping drawing, we can apply this tool to array the discontinuous central axis of the road or highway as shown in the picture:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/991dc54b2ad33c6657562b54

After started the command Layoutbypath, a message will display in the command line>Please select the object to array:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e408dbeba3f05fa6ddb0ae5e

After select the object, a prompt message will display: Please specify the base point: The base point is the point where you want to start doing array from the object. We can select the low left end point of this object:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5dad37c287d3b58dd5ad5a3e

After select base point of the object, a prompt message will display: Specify the object’s direction along the curve<Y axis of WCS>: This message is important because this will play with the object’s direction along the path. Because we select the end low point of the object as base point, we have to specify a parallel point direction to keep the object parallel along the path (long green line):

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/89aefd839ecb9edb86091432

After specify the object’s direction, a prompt message will display: Please select the curve: Then select the long green line. This line is the curve or path that the object will follow.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/698bcf22ff034a07e2a0b1c2

After select the curve or path, a prompt message will display:  Specify select along which side of the curve <left side or forward direction>:  This message is also important because we will specify the side which the object will be array. For example, we specify left side of the curve as shown in the picture.

After specify the side of the curve, a prompt message will display: Select the method Random (R) / Division (F) / Measure (D):

There are three options random, division and measure:

Random: This allows to array the selected object along the path in a specify point according to user’s need.  Division: This allows to array automatically the selected object along the path by inputting the number of objects.  Measure: This allows to array automatically the selected object along the path by inputting the distance value.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8ce42a3fece12ddbec7a52f5

For example, if we do not know the distance between objects but we know the objects quantity, we can select the option Division:

After select the option, a prompt message will display:  Enter the number: And we enter the value 11

After enter the value, a prompt message will display:  Pick a point on the curve as start point (Distribute from the end curve when selection is empty): Then pick one of the end points of the curve:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/95f8c8df4ff432b33b169971

After pick the point of the curve, you will get accurate result: And also you can repeat the same array option for the other blue central axis of the road.

Area Sum: When using traditional area command, users usually need to redraw the boundary of the region, or convert the boundary into a single object, and then get the area of the closed region. AreaSum can automatically search the boundary of complex graphic. After selecting multi close regions, the command line will add the current region value and area sum sequence faster in real time.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/283b15e0bff16d8aac31a13e

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Areasum Command Entry: Areasum

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8e659bd4b062dc9791b8ee02

After started the command, you have to pick points in closed regions to be added according to your need. For example, pick up the hatching regions of each object. After pick point the hatched regions, the command line will show up in real time the region value sequence and area sum in (mm2):

Move/Copy/Rotate: Move, copy, rotate, and scales object(s) with a single command.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Move/Copy/Rotate Command Entry: MOCORO

Command line prompts as follow: Select objects: Select object(s) and press Enter (Fig 7). Base point: Specify a base point (Fig 8) [Move/Copy/Rotate/Scale/Base/Undo]<eXit>: Once an option is specified (Fig 9\Fig10)

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4afbab265bf14cd14e3f1d37 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/053d48bf5d7f2e3b225a2eff Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d9a26bfbf636854c374e7a29 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3eece8db47dfb361706163dd

Fig 7 Fig 8 Fig 9 Fig10

Options Move: Move object(s). Copy: Make multiple copies of object(s). Rotate: Rotate object(s). Scale: Dynamically scale object(s). Base: Specifies a base point for object(s) to be moved, copied, scaled or rotated.

Region Scale: You can select a region of a drawing to be cut and copied to a new location.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3468a23054f4fdb08fbaa94b

Region Scale: You can select a region of a drawing to be cut and copied to a new location.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Region Scale Command Entry: ICAD_DYJT

Command line prompts as follow: Specify left up corner point for full-page proof: Select a region from left up to right down corner

Specify the position to copy: Specify any place you want to copy to the selected region

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/30f8ad935883c6cb87db499b Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9f0f407de84a175c5090b7e6 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4946fc9ff98ad81771aa233d

Select the object to Trim or shift-select to Extend or [Edge/Fence/Crossing/Project]: Select objects to trim or press Enter to finish the operation.

Input zoom scaling, the block and text will zoom together <Enter- No Zoom>: Press Enter to finish the operation.

Trim Enhancement: Trim one side of an object which is intersecting with other objects. The object can be polyline, line, circle, arc, ellipse, image or text.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Trim Enhancement Command Entry: EXTRIM

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select an object as trim reference, here we select the rectangle for example. (Fig 11) 3. Specify the side to trim on. (Fig 12) 4. Here we select the internal point of the rectangle, you will see that the internal lines of the rectangle are trimmed. (Fig 13)

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9a942fa5bbb1f6720561a156 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bad1136dc4969c10e11ad5a7 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/502a0f8d5862a49c286407e8

Fig 11 Fig 12 Fig13

Extended Offset: This enhanced version of the OFFSET command offers several advantages over the standard command, including layer control, undo, and a multiple option.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Extended Offset Command Entry: EXOFFSET

1 .Specify offset distance or [Through] <T>: Specify the offset distance or through point 2 .Select object(s) to offset or [Options/Undo]: Select an object to offset, change options or undo 3 .Specify an option to set [Distance/Layer/Gaptype]: Specify an option

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a6b720167ea263d795701142 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9e6539485bd48a89513975ec Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ddd7f9ff07fdb1659d82854a

EXOFFSET Options: Distance: Specify the offset distance or through point Layer: Specify the layer for new objects. Current Layer or Source Object Layer GapType: Sets or changes the offset mode as controlled by the OFFSETGAPTYPE variable. The options are: Normal, Fillet or Chamfer.

Distance Layer GapType

Multiple Pedit: This command is almost the same as the standard command.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Multiple Pedit Command Entry: MPEDIT

1 .Start the command. 2. Select object 3 . Specify an option to set [Open/Close/Decurve/Fit/Linetype-mode/Spline/Width/eXit]<eXit>:

0617fad4d8767ed83932c93e

Example to close plines: 1 .Select object: select plines which you want to close. 2 .[Open/Close/Decurve/Fit/Linetype-mode/Spline/Width/eXit]<eXit>:Input keyword: C and enter.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/df4b3ac1aaabbe94c44a6de7

3 . You will get the plines closed.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/81f40d3c5bc90f195634e923

Overkill: This function can not only manage overlapped lines, circles, Plines linear objects etc, but can also manage entire coincident blocks, texts, dimensions and regions .Moreover, remove does not simply mean delete, it judges by layer, color, line type and many relevant attributes and can delete or connect coincident parts of 2D and 3D Plines, circles, arcs and overlapping line parts. Using this option can not only delete redundancy objects, but can also avoid editing and printing problems caused by overlapped objects.

Menu: Express tools > Modify > Overkill Command Entry: OVERKILL

6648a9826af7999961c76c1f

Start the command and the command line prompts as follow: Select objects: Select the objects to be compared and deleted. In the overkill dialog box, you can set-up the object comparison, comparison precision (distance between objects) and the object type. After selecting the options according to your need, select OK.

Multiple Copy: Copy multiple objects with Repeat, Array, Divide and Measure options.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Multiple Copy Command Entry: COPYM

Start the command and the command line prompts as follow: Select objects: Select the objects to be copied Base point: Specify a base point Second point or [Repeat (last)/Divide/Measure/Array (dynamic)/Undo] <exit>: Select a second point or any option Options: Repeat: Repeat the last copy using the same offset distance. Divide: Linear divide option. Prompts for an additional point and the number of copies to make. Makes evenly spaced copies of the selected objects between the base point and the second selected point

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8b52b15ca90c2b712e41b82b Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5687973ab9f439b0d86663f4

Repeat Divide

Measure: Linear measure option. Prompts for an additional point and the distance between copies. Makes evenly spaced copies at the specified distance between the base point and the second selected point. Array: Displays the Array Options prompt.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c79bde28323e2bf1dd6753e6 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/34f792e96390f13248b058b6

Measure Array

Statistics Summation: This function sums up selected text or mtext. The selected text can not contain any other characters behind the number and the selected mtext can only contain a row of numerical values without blank spaces. Figures with prefix can also make statistics Summation and the system will summate them by different prefixes.Menu: Express tools>Modify>Statistics Summation Command Entry: KLL01

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b7f80573c3f7cf991cb152ea

Start the command and the command line prompts as follow: Select objects: Select Text or Mtext numerical value

In the Statistics dialog box, you can see the cumulative sum from the selected text numerical values. You can also re-select, replace, copy text numerical value again plus fill-in (show) the cumulative sum in any point of your current drawing.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4dd1a758f7aac74215028dd8 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/57b1090537ea0ae616d47e4e

Break Object: In some industrial application design, sometimes we need to break pipes or cable lines in our schematic drawing to indicate their spatial relationship. Sometimes we also need to break lines at crossing point to make it convenient for the later edit. Break Object tool came from this kind of needs.

Menu: Express tools>Modify>Break Object Command Entry: BREAKOBJECT

This tool provides four breaking modes with gap distance to visualize the differences between breaking options.

Gap: Indicates the gap value between broken objects

Break all objects selected with each other: This option breaks all intersected objects each other. You can select objects by window selection or picking each object.

Break selected objects with other selected objects: This option breaks all intersected objects by two selection sets (A and B). The objects selected under the first set (A) will be broken meanwhile the objects selected under the second set (B) will be not broken.

Break objects touching selected objects: This option breaks all intersected objects that touch at first instance selected object. Break selected objects with any objects that touch it: This option breaks the first instance selected object with all intersected objects to it.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/294ab3a46f658474212eff8d

Draw Tools

Superhatch: Fills an enclosed area or selected objects with a hatch pattern, solid fill or gradient hatch.

Menu: Express>Draw>Superhatch Command Entry: Superhatch

The Superhatch dialog box is displayed:

d49f15bbe54a63e945b22ae7

Image: Accesses the Select Image dialog box to specify the image for the hatch pattern. Block: Opens the Superhatch_Insert dialog box to specify the block for the hatch pattern. Xref Attach: Accesses the Select reference file dialog box for specifying an xref file for a hatch pattern. WipeOut: Selects a wipeout object as a hatch pattern. Select Existing: Selects an existing image, block, xref, or Wipeout as a hatch pattern.

For Images:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6067ac9baaabea140490953f Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e3c3fd3d6f59089b45dffd33
  1. Open Superhatch dialog box. 2. Click Image… button, choose an image file, the Superhatch Imageraster dialog box is displayed. 3. Pick the OK button in the Superhatch Imageraster dialog box, specify insertion point, scale factor and angle of rotation. 4. The prompt “Is the placement of this IMAGE acceptable? [Yes/No]<yes>”: 5. Pick a point in the rectangle, press ENTER to finish.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a6b825faef47f09875ed9693

For Blocks:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/48f5b86523d24e0ec71c4c45
  1. Open Superhatch dialog box. 2. Click the Block… button to access the Superhatch_Insert dialog box: Block: Click the Block… button to select a block in the current file. File: Pick the File… button to select a drawing file as the block 3. Select the block in the Defined Blocks dialog box and press OK. 4. Specify insertion point, scale factor and angle of rotation. 5. The prompt “Is the placement of this IMAGE acceptable? [Yes/No]<yes>”is displayed. Choose No to Esc. If you choose Yes, GstarCAD will ask you to specify the first point and the next point to place the image. 6. Specify an internal point of the objects for hatch boundary then press ENTER to finish hatch
Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/f7ec492529079548ff90303c Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c3d03d7f57389a5c64e82681

For WipeOut:

  1. Access Superhatch dialog box and click the Wipeout button: 2. GstarCAD will ask you to specify insertion point to create an area that masks underlying objects 3. Press ENTER to finish creating the boundary that masks underlying objects. 4. As shown in the picture, move the new block to the carpet, the block will automatically cover the object under it:
Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bad0070420bd3e0e5dd08778

Breakline Symbol: Creates a polyline and inserts the breakline symbol. The options within this command are provided to control the relative size and appearance of the breakline symbol and an extension of the polyline beyond the selected start and end points.

Menu: Express tools>Draw>Breakline Symbol Command Entry: BREAKLINE

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a72c53bff4835b0ab016fa07

Once start the command, the command line prompts as follow:

Block = BRKLINE.DWG, Size = 1.000, Extension = 1.250 . Specify first point for breakline or [Block/Size/Extension/sPecify line for breakline]: Specify a point, or enter options

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6e34f0d1e5166d447e0430ab

Options:

Specify first point for breakline: Draws break line through specifying its start point and end point.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9ee56900f2eb0fd902e9bf40

Block: Determines the block to be used as the breakline symbol. Enter the block name for breakline symbol <BRKLINE.DWG>: Enter a block name and press ENTER or press ENTER. If you press ENTER directly, the saving path of the break symbol file will be displayed on the command line.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/07c3bcc263c3ab06f5059fe5

Size: Determines the size of the breakline symbol. Breakline symbol size <1>: Specify the size of the breakline symbol

Extension: Determines the length of the line extension beyond selected points. Breakline extension distance <1.25>: Specify the extension distance. Once the start point for the break line or the setup break symbol is

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1575afeffc438c086884f1a2

assigned, the command line prompts as follows: Specify second point for breakline: Specify a point

Specify location for break symbol <Midpoint>: Specify the point on the line segment to specify the location of the breakline symbol, or press ENTER to use the midpoint of the line.

Pline Boolean:

Menu: Express>Draw>Pline Boolean Command Entry: GC_BoolOP

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c5274b52e7a7b8ea8049eb33

The Pline Boolean dialog box is displayed as shown in the following picture. Delete the entity chosen by second selection: Choose whether to delete the second selected object. There are different Boolean operation options such as union, intersection and subtraction. After the operation the object will be a polyline.

Operation case: Here, we use two boolean operations as shown below to complete the design of mechanical parts.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fc309187ae14f5384f3c63dc Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d3b64d448786d31b0be4bd57
  1. Start command, the dialog box will pop up; 2. Select the option "union" and uncheck the option "Delete the entity choosen by second selection", as shown below.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6d9e11f5579da58ceb800086 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b7bff33f9b977d3d8b01bac4 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/91228cfdb4aa9057169b548b
  1. First select the exterior circle and then the small circles around it, it will keep all small circles around enabled for the next operation and you will get the first polyline as shown right side; 4. Start again the boolean operations, select option "subtraction" and check "Delete the entity chosen by second selection". 5. Then select the interior circle and then the small circles around it, then the small circles will be automatically deleted.

Spline to Line: Converts spline(s) to numbers of straight lines.

Menu: Express tools>Draw> Spline to Line Command Entry: SPLINE2LINE

Once the command is started, the command line prompts as follow: Select spline or [Set parameters(S)]: Select spline(s) or input “S” to set parameters [The line precision/Starting point (S)<1.00>]: Input a new value bigger than 0 to join precision between segment lines Conversion in a straight line to allow the greatest number of <5000>]: Input a new value smaller than 5000 to number of lines

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6176cc1bee46ec28bbe314a4 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/326ec97d57681a244847af59

At first, the system will fit the spline with a segment line which precision (Length) has been specified, if the line’s number needed is more than the maximum number, the system will extend the length of the lines by force, using the maximum number of lines to fit the spline. Select spline or [Set parameters(S)]: Then select the spline(s) to be converted and press Enter to finish the operation

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bc0605fbfd3bc9e18a98c5e9

Spline to Pline: With this tool the SPline created can be converted to a polyline according to the accuracy (number of segments of the arc) that the user assigns. The more specified the segment number is, the higher is the matching degree between the converted Polyline.

Menu: Express tools>Draw>Spline to Pline Command Entry: SPTPL

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e8587bb884bf205c8f0b065e

For example, draw the follow spline sample with 5 arcs as shown:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/10dc5a89e0efb1f88ca5410b

After the command SPTPL is started, Please select the object (Spline). After selecting the object, a prompt message will be displayed > Delete the spline? Yes(Y) / No(N): In this case, if we select Yes, this option will delete the spline in place but if we select No, it will keep the spline. After inputting the delete spline option, a prompt message will be displayed > Please enter the number of arcs Non-zero: And we have to input a value higher than zero, for example 8. This value determines the segment number of arcs to be created in the new Polyline.

Line to Pline: This function can convert one or multiple connected straight line(s), arc(s) to one polyline. You can access from:

Menu: Express tools>Draw>Line to Polyline Command Entry: Line2pl

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a54b62856235252d4dd5fdbe

After starting the command, a prompt message will be displayed> Please enter the join precision: 0 The Join precision will determine the union space between end points of each object. In this case, we will input value 0 to ensure the connection between objects (lines).

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8f4a781e429e0222e6410c07

After inputting the join value, Please select the objects to be joined and converted to Polyline:

And finally, you have successfully created a polyline:

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/67ede72be8e685036e17b8ab

Cloud Line: Creates polyline objects comprised of arcs that resemble cloud lines.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/0c437b641e3ab13c9172e340

Cloud Line: Creates polyline objects comprised of arcs that resemble cloud lines.

Menu: Express tools>Draw>Cloud Line Command Entry: REVCLOUD

Once the command is started, the command line prompts as follow:

Minimum arc length: Current Maximum arc length: Current Style: Normal Specify start point or [Arc length/Object/Style]<Object>: Specify a point or enter an option or press ENTER. Starting point: Specifies the starting point of the cloud lines. Guide crosshairs along cloud path… Once the first arc links to the last arc, the prompts is displayed: Reverse direction [Yes (Y)/No (N)]: By inputting “Y”, all the arcs will change into an inverse position. By inputting “N”, the arcs will keep the current position.

Arc: Specifies the arc length. Specify minimum length of arc <current>: Specify the arc length value or press ENTER. Specify the maximum arc length <current>: Specify the arc length value or press ENTER.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/225fe3000cd8951ba6ae1b18

Then specify start and end point to finish the operation. Note: The maximum arc length should not be greater than 3 times the minimum arc length. The value of arc length is stored in the register.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bb1c7e1a532592ab39763c68

Object: Converts the closed object to the cloud lines. It can only be applied to the closed object.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2b32a8ece8ed9e1d6fe18d12

Select objects: Select a closed object(s) Reverse direction [Yes (Y)/No (N)]: By inputting “Y”, all the arcs will change into an inverse position. By inputting “N”, the arcs will keep the current position. Select any option and press Enter to finish the operation.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c6281a8afeedf6037d24b529

Style: There are two styles: Normal (same as above) and Calligraphy, which makes the arcs of the cloud thicker than the normal one. Select arc style [Normal/Calligraphy]<Normal>: Select Calligraphic

Reverse direction [Yes (Y)/No (N)]: By inputting “Y”, all the arcs will change into an inverse position. By inputting “N”, the arcs will keep the current position. Select any option and press Enter to finish the operation.

Tools

Command Alias:This function allows users to add, modify, delete command alias and shell commands.

Menu: Express tools>Tools>Command Alias Command Entry: ALIAS

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/72d9175a0d33ef17d7df3703 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ef9607a08f897ff15c2a3999

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and a dialog box will pop up. 2. Select commands to be deleted and click “Remove” button to delete command alias. 3. Select the command to be modified and click “Edit” button, a dialog box will pop up. 4. Click “OK” to finish editing.

System Variable Editor: Allows you to view, save, load and compare system variable settings.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c2eb164ca7e0740adfcddedf

Menu: Express tools>Tools>System Variable Editor Command Entry: SYSVDLG

System Variables Dialog Box Options:

List Box: Displays a list of system variables. The edit field above the list box allows for filtering the list box display based on user input. For example, entering DIM* in the edit field filters the list to display only system variables that start with DIM. If nothing is entered in the edit field, the list displays all system variables. If more than one system variable is highlighted, all edit and display options are unavailable.

New Value: Displays the current value of the system variable highlighted in the list box and allows you to edit that value. No changes are committed until the dialog is closed with the OK button.

Current Value: Displays the value of the system variable highlighted in the list box as if SYSVDLG was started.

Initial Value: Displays the initial value of the system variable highlighted in the list box. This is the value the system variable has in a new drawing.

Saved In: Displays where the value of the highlighted system variable is saved.

Type: Displays the type of the highlighted system variable; for example, integer, real, string, and so on.

Save All: Saves the current system variable settings to an SVF or SCR file. SVF files can be read into SYSVDLG and SCR files are AutoCAD scripts that can be run from the AutoCAD command line. The button will display Save All, Save Selected or Save Filtered depending on the condition of the system variable list.

Read: Restores saved settings from an SVF file. No changes are saved to the drawing until you choose OK. All pending changes can be discarded with the Cancel button. SYSVDLG will validate new system variable values as they are changed.

Compare with saved: Compares the variables of the drawing with the saved SCR file.

Make Linetype: Creates a linetype based on selected objects.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a2ec4be5ddf519cb84cb643b

Make Linetype: Creates a linetype based on selected objects.

Menu: Express tools>Tools>Make Linetype Command Entry: MKLTYPE

Once the command is started, the following window will be displayed. You can find the Line files (*.lin) and apply them to the current drawing.

Attach Xdata: Attaches extended object data (xdata) to a selected object.

Menu: Express tools>Tools>Attach Xdata Command Entry: XDATA

Select object: Use an object selection method. Input application name: Specify application name. Enter an option [3Real/DIR/DISP/DIST/Hand/Int/LAyer/LOng/Pos/Real/SCale/STr/eXit] <eXit>:

Options:

Application name: An ASCII string up to 255 bytes long (group code 1000). 3Real: 3 real numbers (group code 1010). Dir: A 3D World space direction (group code 1013). Disp: A 3D World space displacement (group code 1012). Dist: A distance (group code 1041). Hand: An object handle (group code 1005). Int: A 16-bit integer (group code 1070). Layer: A layer name (group code 1003). Long: A 32-bit signed long integer (group code 1071). Pos: A 3D World space position (group code 1011). Real: A real number (group code 1040). Scale: A scale factor (group code 1042).

List Object Xdata: Lists the xdata associated with an object.

Menu: Express tools>Tools>List Object Xdata Command Entry:XDLIST

Select objects: Use an object selection method. Input application name <*>: Specify an application name or press ENTER for all applications.

Table Tools

Table Fill In: You can use this function to fill in the table or edit the texts.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/00ef1e9e7b6f8e2c125cd854

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Table Fill In Command Entry: FORMTXT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Click in the cell or input “Q” and a dialog box will pop up. 3. In the dialog box you can set the text height fashion, just fashion and other text attributes. 4. Click the blank area of a cell and input texts directly. 5. Enter to finish filling in.

Draw Table: This function can help you draw a table.

Menu: Express>Table Tools> Draw Table Command Entry: BGE

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify the first point of the table. 3. The command line prompts. a. Press Q key and the width of the form will increase a little, is used to adjust the horizontal width. b. Press W key and the width of the form will decrease a little, used to adjust the horizontal width. c. Press A key and the height of the form will increase a little, used to adjust the vertical height. d. Press S key and the height of the form will decrease a little, used to adjust the vertical height. 4. You can input the corresponding options to adjust the size of the table. 5. Specify the second point to finish drawing the table.

Merge Cells: This function is similar to merge cells in Excel.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1fbbcf00cba7256577847773

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Merge Cells Command Entry: BGH

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify the borderline of the form to merge or the first cell, as shown below. 3. Merging effect as below. And press Enter to finish the command.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1ea6fc6408d6d6bb0d0bed6c Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/dfc4b0281d522dd77ae73639

Sample1: Specify the borderline of the form

Sample2: Specify the first cell and another cell

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8c9621307bf347e25c6912ae Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/884f977bbca6193ba3512af4 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ac34061200444c17fb879eb4

Fig 14Split Cells: This function is similar to split cells in Excel.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5d7f502b7ef27bd0bc40630a

Fig 14Split Cells: This function is similar to split cells in Excel.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/53c07d278e2f2b14c8d04d25

Fig 15Menu: Express>Table Tools>Split Cells Command Entry: BGFG

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify the cell which needs to be split. (Fig14). 3. Move the cursor, when the rows and columns are a size up, click the mouse and the cell will be split automatically, (Fig15).

Add Bias: This function can add bias for a cell. Click the start and end point according to the prompts and the system will provide an intersection snap and can easily find the start and end point of the bias, or you can click any area in one cell and the system will find the top left point of the cell automatically, then the system will prompt you to select the end point, you can also click any area in the cell, system will take the bottom right point as the end point automatically, this way, a bias is added in a cell.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/09d72cf5c505f70bc8d1f095 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b9e3edbeac206f3a9bf9daeb

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Add Bias Command Entry: BGX

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify start point, you can click the top left point or click the blank area in the cell. 3. Specify end point to finish drawing the bias.

Drag Multiple Lines: You can change the row and column width by dragging the line of the table and the corresponding parts of the line will also change. For example, drag the line you selected to the right side and all the lines in the right side will move to the right side correspondingly.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1432e51d155c268c4a4362c9 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e6161e98291d32bf760c0466

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Drag Multiple Lines Command Entry: BGMT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify the line of table for dragging. (Fig16) 3. Specify the place or distance to drag to (left is positive). (Fig17) 4. Enter to finish moving. (Fig18)

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8dd90385623d5eed08eb6915

Fig 16 Fig 17 Fig 18

Drag Line: Different to Multiline drag, Drag line will just move the line you selected and other relevant lines will not move.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Drag Line

Command Entry: BGST

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ab3382e3a4419c3ab9136780 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6613a3bbbb6f66610e09fc41 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9ea36a9603bc554e7d73e4a0

Operation steps: 1.Start the command. 2.Specify the line of the table for dragging. (Fig19) 3.Specify the place or distance to drag to (left is positive). (Fig20) 4.Enter to finish the command. (Fig21)

Fig 19 Fig 20 Fig 21

Drag Segment: This command will not change the lines of the whole table, but just move the side line of a cell.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9ede71ac4143e4b594dbce5c Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d85fae7249bdb4b6c0b53b57 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/84b5f6de04f24e91296ee739

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Drag Segment Command Entry: BGJT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. Fig 22 Fig 23 2. Specify the line of the table for dragging (Fig22). 3. Specify the place or distance to drag (left is positive). (Fig23) 4. Enter to finish the command (Fig24).

Fig 24

Selection Scale: This function can zoom in and zoom out the whole table base on the point you specified.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Selection Scale Command Entry: BGSF

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and specify the base point for the line of table. (Fig25) 2. Move the cursor and the table will zoom. (Fig26) 3. Drag to a suitable position and click. (Fig27)

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/fa5b434ffc1dd17765628466 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e52ee3bd297081d89330db91 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/da951727898cdfd3f5970b80

Fig 25 Fig 26 Fig 27

Add Row: This function can add rows to the table.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c293c5f3e6c740cb3f30f4b2 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/69d8b72983c2659504eab85d

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Add Row Command Entry: BGZH

Operation steps: 1.Start the command. 2. Specify the position of the new row. 3. The system will add a row below the point you specified.

Add Column: This function can add new columns to the table.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/7860740d89d6dc79dc484bb6

Add Column: This function can add new columns to the table.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e14d212724333c5c2b7ad5f7

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Add Column Command Entry: BGZL

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify the direction of the new column. 3. The system will add a new column on the right side of the table.

Delete Row: This function can delete the row of the table you specified.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/59e86f6a00217bd864e7994b Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2555e113418bbed54ad66ad8

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Delete Row Command Entry: BGSH

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and specify the cell of row for delete. 2. The system will delete the row you specified.

Delete Column: This function can delete columns you specified.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3c72ab82a6d532d2fc6efe68

Delete Column: This function can delete columns you specified.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d8e2a3593742c9b4eef9a44e

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Delete Column Command Entry: BGSL

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify the cell of column for delete. 3. The system will delete the column you specified.

Delete Table: This function can delete the table you selected.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/551f7e830e315194a5986329

Delete Table: This function can delete the table you selected.

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Delete Table Command Entry: BGSC

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and specify the table for delete. 2. Enter to finish deleting.

Text Orientation Adjust: This function is used to adjust the alignment of the texts.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/90ec7b9757b2ae9c1d7445c8 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4519e2e4fe70a93b423031fa

Menu: Express>Table Tools>Text Orientation Adjust Command Entry: BGJS

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and select the text for adjust.

  1. Press Enter and the command line will prompt the location mode. 3. Here we input “1” to select left alignment.

  2. The text you specified will align to the left, as shown below.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/83aa96b7dc3384d37724d7b4

Notice:

  1. This function can only orient and adjust the table text in the TABLE layer. 2. The distance to the table line using left alignment or right alignment has already been set by the program, if you thunk that the distance is not suitable, you can use the GstarCAD command to adjust the distance.

CAD Table to Excel: This command will convert sheets, composed by line/Spline and text/Mtext in CAD, to EXCEL.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3eed973d54e4bcbaafaa26cf

Menu: Express>Table Tools> CAD Table to Excel Command Entry: GC_CTE

Operation method: 1. Start the command and specify the conversion ratio. 2. Select the table that need to be changed and press enter, the system will automatically open EXCEL after conversion.

  1. Save the EXCEL sheet.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/957c3cd11b9411b1d3e86d96 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/93e17ff76311ec8a6448e26c

Coordinate Tools

Export Coordinate: It is easier to extract coordinate data from dawing with COEXPORT innovative tool.

Menu: Express>Coordinate Tools>Export Coordinate Command Entry: DIMCOORD

You can pick as many points as you need from your drawing and export all the coordinate data to .txt or .xls file. This tool could be applied conveniently on planning, surveying, mapping, and construction drawings.

Execute COEXPORT command and select what format (.txt/.xls) you want to save the file.Then pick all the coordinate points on your current drawing. Each time you pick a point, its data will be automatically storage in the file you selected. To finish the process, press Enter. You can open the saved file and check out all coordinate data (X,Y,Z) extracted.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/05bd134e7fd1948c0e86d09d Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/854ef1e683fbf8b151eabc67 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/cfae8ab91fee9ca8304f521b

Coordinate Point: Dimensions the point coordinate in the drawing.

Menu: Express>Coordinate Tools>Coordinate Point Command Entry: DIMCOORD

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3b21c91aef986c0b2252a6a4 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bd54e3ac7a9d166feea7dedf

Change Z Coordinate: Choose several objects at one time and then change the Z coordinates together.

Menu: Express>Coordinate Tools>Change Z Coordinate Command Entry: CHANGEZ

Drawing Tools

Drawing Lock: Sometimes a designer sends drawings to other people, but doesn’t want others to modify the drawings. The “Drawing Lock” function can turn the drawing into a whole block. You can’t explode it or modify the objects of the original drawing. It is a good way to prevent others from modifying the drawing.

Menu: Express tools>Drawing Tools>Drawing Lock Command Entry: LOCKUP

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a983422cebe5a805cffb717a

Once the command is started, the follow wizard will be displayed:

19a3b20c46d73c63401e5ad7 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e70dbcd9c48dc9ef751d3fb8

Select objects: Select all the objects in the current drawing to be locked and press Enter. Note: Please save your drawing before using this function, because the locked drawing can’t be modified.

Drawing Compare: Drawing compare is an exclusive function in GstarCAD which is added according to the user’s requirement. It enhances collaboration by using color-coded displays to show items on a drawing that have been changed, added, or deleted by other members of the design team. Changes to items such as styles, block attribute, object of block can also be tracked. The program will analyze the differences between two drawings automatically. Then the differences will be marked with different colors. Users can also set the marking color by clicking the “option” button.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/50ec2d19b306d5c5b16d9145

Menu: Express tools>Drawing Tools>Drawing Compare Command Entry: CMP

Once the command is started, the following window will be displayed:

In this window, you have to browse the old DWG (original drawing) and the new DWG (drawing modified). You can also assign a path to save the compared drawing. Then select the button Option to set-up the comparison parameters.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/f47a03f449b4e1d1f4b594d5 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1de7a3c29611503aca6c027c

After setting up the comparison parameters such as: colors, layers, line type, etc. select Ok to confirm these parameters. Note: Pay attention to the mark color because the deleted, modified and added objects will assume these into the compared drawing. Then select the button Compare in the window below to compare both drawings.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d4843919a96f6e67819d9b8c Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/367b3d512fad3510ab640904

Graphic Compare: As we know the drawing compare function in GstarCAD can be used to compare similar drawings containing nearly number of drawn objects to each other, especially to compare different versions of revision drawings.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9e217e0c85b8a5ec53003e57 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4d936401c71750b7011ee47f

Menu: Express tools>Drawing Tools>Graphic Compare Command Entry: OCMP

Drawing compare can make comparisons between two similar drawings (old DWG and New DWG) and generate them as separate files. After pressing COMPARE button within CompareDwg dialog box, the program will generate and open _old and _new.dwg files, where you can see the differences between drawings.

Drawing Compare can find out differences (drawn objects) and show the result with different colors, e.g. if a line is modified, removed or newly drawn, it will be displayed in different colors.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/90e21b652b84a6d42533f4ea Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/208305c6f6535b06074ece1e

But there is something else that drawing compare could not accomplish so accurately. Drawing compare can’t insert and show the compared objects on the current drawing working space that you are working at real time. Besides, drawing compare can’t show the details of how the objects were located before they were modified.

So the details are very important when comparing objects. Now the new and innovative Graphic Compare tool can do more! It does not only compare two drawingswith similar objects geometry and find out the differences but also display the details of any change at the current workspace of your drawing in real time, e.g. if a line is modified, only the changed part of the line is displayed in different color. The unchanged part remains unchanged.

Graphic compare dialog box

You can invoke the Graphic Compare dialog box by tipping OCMP command at command line or by dynamic input.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/6800ebe922f4fe2c21e15fb1

Specify Drawing: Offerstwo options of drawing comparison between select objects on your current drawing or specify files.

Select Objects: Offers two options of objects selection including their base points to be compared.

Select base objects and base point: This option allows select all objects, including a basis point as a first selection set to be compared.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/dde5906c65fc0606005a988b

Select compare objects and base point: This option allows select all objects, including a basis point as a second selection set to be compared with the first selection set.

Specify File: Checkingthis option allows browse two drawing file to be compared known as base and compare file.

Output Drawing: Offers two options of drawing compared output.

Insert current document: This option allows insert the compared set of selected objects on the current workspace.

Export to a file: This option allows output the compared set of selected objects to a drawing file.

Output settings: You can setup properties like layer, color and linetype for all selected objects to be compared to enhance visual differences between them.

Inserting Compared Objects Set into Current Drawing

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/78bfc3fc6e647faba6f33cb0

To insert compared objects set into current drawing, first select the button Select base objects and base point. Then select allobjects as first selection set called base objects and specify a base point for the base objects.Then select the button Select compare objects and base point and repeat all previous process mentioned above.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5599105ac6cbd70337e0b611 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/837b7f95bebef908ceaf463e Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/91c2bfedd7a4c34525aa3ebe

Under Output Drawing, check the option Insert current document. If you want setup visual properties for the compared objects, click Output settings button. After that you can place the compared objects set in a convenient point according your need.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/8ef029fab57428fa246770db

Batch Purge (Batch Files Cleaning): This new function allows to batch purge the excess objects such as blocks, layers, line type, dimension style or text style on several DWG files. The Batpurge tool doesn’t need to open files. It executes the command of purge directly, which makes it run with very high efficiency. You can access it from:

Menu: Express>Drawing Tools>Batch Purge Command Entry: Batpurge

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/392b2eb684bc151bfc15e66f

After the command is started, a dialog box will be displayed. In this dialog box you can add, select, unselect, clean and start purging objects within DWG files with the following options:

Add Files: Add one or more batch files from the selected path.

Add Folder: Add DWG files from a selected folder.

Select All: Select all the DWG file lists at once.

Select None: Unselect all the DWG files at once.

Delete: Delete selected object(s) in the file list.

Clear: Clean all the DWG file lists at once.

Start Purge: Starts purging the selected DWG file list. After purging, GstarCAD will generate a notepad file where you can see the purge details.

Log: After the purge operation is finished, you can Login in to the created notepad file and see the batch purge detail record.

AutoXLS Table Tools

Create Table: Menu: Express tools>AutoXlsTable>Create Table Command Entry:_CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_CREATE

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e5eb175c730c3d747c03f881

Operation steps: 1. In the AutoXLSTable pull-down menu, click Create Table. 2. Create an Excel spreadsheet or open an existing Excel spreadsheet in Excel. 3. Click Finish button in the AutoXlsTable pull-down menu in Excel. 4. Specify insertion point in GstarCAD.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c60885b50cab76054297ebb8 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2a41dd51829755f7f29f9213 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4c17a767b409a6f26b2fb258

Edit Table: Menu: Express tools>AutoXlsTable>Edit Table Command Entry: _CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_EDIT

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2cda112032587458afc0babd

Edit Table: Menu: Express tools>AutoXlsTable>Edit Table Command Entry: _CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_EDIT

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1b4a86bf5169a72879e39602

Operation steps: 1. Click Edit Table. 2. Select a table created by AutoXlsTable in GstarCAD then the Excel file will open.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5be82c7fd8ef3645737a40ad

Update Table: Update table whose original Excel spreadsheet was modified.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bdd362dce946c652795634cc

Menu: Express tools>AutoXlsTable>Update Table Command Entry:_CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_UPDATETBL

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4133c9f083ae63890785e81a Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/b7d49e82cc664a450832d55b

Operation steps: 1. Click Update table. 2. Select the table to update then the table will update automatically according to the relevant Excel.

Update All the Tables:

Menu: Express>AutoXlsTable>Update All the Tables Command Entry: CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_UPDATEALLTBL

After executing this command, the system will update all the table objects created by “Create Table” command.

Menu: Express>AutoXlsTable>File Link Management Command Entry: CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_MANAGELINK

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ab16319a03fe4f8f0df02a64

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select table object in the drawing and a dialog box will pop up. 3. Click the “ Browse” button to open the file selection dialog box. 4. Select an XLS file which needs to be connected with a table object and click “OK”, then return to the Link Manager dialog box. 5. You can use the “Attach”, “Delete” and “Update” button to complete link related editing and management.

Path Settings: This function is used to set the path of an Excel file.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/a67f49f90dee7e377644fd7f

Menu: Express>AutoXlsTable>Path Settings Command Entry: CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_USINGPATH

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and a dialog box will pop up as below. 2. In the dialog box, you can set the path pattern of the Excel file.

Selection Management: You can use this function to calculate objects length and area, when the length and area change, the calculating data will update automatically.

Menu: Express>AutoXlsTable>Selection Management Command Entry: CAOT_AUTOXLSTABLE_SELECTION

Purpose: use the “Selection Management” function to calculate the area of a circle and a rectangle, when length and area change, the calculating data will update automatically.

  1. Draw a circle and a rectangle as below, use the “Create Table” function to create a table as below.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/7b6dc0fa11a7ac70d5e2dc90 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3bacd4431a6c10632682b55e Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/48bbc3794395d8946def9f04
  1. Start the “Selection Management” command and a dialog box will pop up. 3. Input “CIRCLE” and click the “New Group” button.

  2. Select the circle. 5. Press enter, the “Selection Management” dialog box will add a new item “CIRCLE”, as shown below.

  3. You can add a “RECTANGLE” item using the same operation as above. 7. Click “Close” to exit “Selection Management”. 8. Use the “Edit Table” command to edit the table. 9. Click the cell on the right side of “CIRCLE” and click the “Insert Function” icon, as shown below:

  4. In the dialog box, you can specify the entity as “CIRCLE”, Layer as “All” and click “OK”.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/532864a5cb69e94c2e527f4c Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/f2ae5d4bcff017a1d23dd474 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4e7dcf859610cce0cfca139a Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/04845e7109e9e5dc099038a2
  1. Use the same operation to insert the rectangle area calculating function. Then Click the pull-down menu “Finish” option of AutoXlsTabl as shown.

  2. Back to CAD and the table will calculate the area of the circle and rectangle. 13. Scale the rectangle and the table data will change automatically.

GstarCAD Tools

Drawing Scale: You can set the drawing scale before drawing, when you are using other tools (for example “Line Such as Chord” and “Modify Line width”), our software will adjust the scale automatically.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/d9f9c0b5106fdc967813259f

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Drawing Scale Command Entry: SASCL Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Input a drawing ratio and enter to finish.

Rotate Cursor: The cursor can rotate anti-clockwise by 0 degree or 45 degree.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Rotate Cursor>0 or 45 Command Entry: RTCUR0/RTCUR45

Side Line: Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Rotate Cursor>Side Line Command Entry: RTCUR1

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/7b61857a80d9ba2354bd51d2

Side Line: Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Rotate Cursor>Side Line Command Entry: RTCUR1

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the reference segment and system will align the X axis of the cursor to the selected segment.

Real Time Rotate:

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Rotate Cursor>Real Time Rotate Command Entry: RTCUR

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/efab6ce0a7586ad48942a3d2

Operation steps: 1. After executing the command, the command line prompts as below. 2. You can use the AWSD four keys to control the cursor direction until you are satisfied and press enter.

Draw Axonometric Line: Using this function can easily draw an axonometric drawing.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/bad9d7b24ec2fe91d3c65353

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Draw Axonometric Line Command Entry: SALPL

Operation steps: 1. Start the command and input the line width value. 2. The command line will prompt as below, input corresponding options, you can use it to switch between 0 degree and 45 degree and you can also input any angle value. Then press Enter to finish the command.

Visual Extension: Normally after extension, the extension effect will be displayed, but Visual Extension can display the effect in real time until you confirm the position.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/1e0c9a155f16f7b9047bf665

Visual Extension: Normally after extension, the extension effect will be displayed, but Visual Extension can display the effect in real time until you confirm the position.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Visual Extension Command Entry: ETT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the line that needs to be extended, the system will choose the nearest side you clicked as extension side automatically. 3. Move the cursor and the segment will extend in real time.

Normal Connect: The Normal Connect function is similar to zero distance chamfer, it can delete the lines of actual intersection or apparent intersection parts.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/3d5e0b3e4840970cbd4f274e

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Normal Connect Command Entry: GXFILT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the first line segment. 3. Select the second line. 4. The result will be as shown in the picture.

Flex Connect: This function can extend or cut down the line to the actual intersection or apparent intersection point.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e28bd119baef66f7213f1e98

Flex Connect: This function can extend or cut down the line to the actual intersection or apparent intersection point.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Flex Connect Command Entry: GXFSS

Operation sample: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the elongation (or shortening) of the line.

Super Fillet: This function can not only do the fillet operation but can also unify the filleted line layer, color and line type and the unified standard will take the first selected fillet object as reference.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/ab6302907bca9794ed566f9d

Super Fillet: This function can not only do the fillet operation but can also unify the filleted line layer, color and line type and the unified standard will take the first selected fillet object as reference.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Super Fillet Command Entry: SFILLET Operation steps: 1. Start the command and input fillet radius. 2. Choose the first segment, as shown below. After executing the command, the layer, color, line type of another line and fillet will match with the first segment. 3. Choose the second segment.

Modify Linewidth: Modify the line width you specified, if what you specified is a line and our software will convert the line to Pline automatically and change the line width. This function is similar to the pedit function, we can use it as a shortcut version and it is very convenient for modifying the line width.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Linewidth Command Entry: LCW

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/487cd3ec4563c9f45c426405

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select the line. 3. Enter a new line width value and here we input “2” for example. 4. Enter to finish and the effect will be as shown in the picture.

Cross to Break: In engineering drawings, many places need to break the cross line. If we do this the original way, it will be very complex. Using this function breaking lines can be easily done.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/2a5331e5df2a4bd50733e5f6

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Cross to Break Command Entry: CBK

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify the occluded line. 3. Choose the occluded (to be disconnected) line and what you selected will be cut off automatically. 4. Enter to finish the command.

Control Break Width: This function is used to set break width for Cross objects.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/e5a399578a5e1aaf3af63738

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Control Break Width Command Entry: CBKWID

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Enter the width of the break space.

Modify Text: In here you can find several tools to modify text properties.

Text Height: Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Text Height Command Entry: TXT40

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/902386c9d2dcac831586ea72
  1. Start the command. 2. Select a single line text. 3. Input text height. 4. Press enter to finish the command.

Width Factor: Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Width Factor Command Entry: TXT41

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/351660119db8e633dc40d53a

Width Factor: Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Width Factor Command Entry: TXT41

  1. Start the command. 2. Select a single line text. 3. Input Width height ratio. 4. Press enter to finish the command.

Angle: Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Angle Command Entry: TXT50

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/c49695ae8a68fd2ef5ccdec0
  1. Start the command. 2. Select a single line text. 3. Input rotation angle. 4. Press enter to finish the command.

Obliquing Angle: Different to the rotation angle, after executing the command, the text will get an inclination deformation effect.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/56fc8e306eabbd4008481364

Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Obliquing Angle Command Entry: TXT51

  1. Start the command. 2. Select a single line text. 3. Input tilt angle. 4. Press enter to finish the command.

Options Modify: You can use this function to modify all the options above.

Menu: Express tools>GstarCAD Tools>Modify Text>Options Modify Command Entry: EDTXT

Super Axonometric:It is a quintessential function that can easily convert a plan drawing to an axonometric drawing.

Menu: Express>GstarCAD Tools>Super Axonometric Command Entry: ZC

Operation steps:

1.Start the command. 2.Select objects and press enter, as shown below. 3.Enter the axonometric point of view, such as 45 degree. 4.The effect will be as below.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/4fcee743e176e09c21fcb755 Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/79603c7d08581f753dcd256a Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/70864419f32b149815032257

Print Tools

Menu: Express tools>Plot Tool>Print PLT Command Entry: PrintPlt

Operation Steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Select PrintPlt.exe in the dialog box. 3. Double-click the PrintPlt.exe file, then the “Print” dialog box will be displayed, in the dialog box you can select printer or change settings. 4. Click the OK button, the “Open” dialog box will be displayed and you can select the printed file.

Batch Print: Batch print drawings with the same drawing frame attribute.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/22a79c8741e84b0cb65c08f7

Batch Print: Batch print drawings with the same drawing frame attribute.

Menu: Express tools>Plot Tool>Batch Print Command Entry: BP

Operation steps: 1. Start the command. 2. Specify the type of frame, you can select Layer/ Block/ Polyline so that the system can recognize the frame. 3. Corner select the frame you want to print, you will get a dialog box. 4. Set the print Parameters, click “OK” to execute bath print.

Arrange Frame Automatically: This function can search frames automatically, calculate according to the size of the frame and then arrange several drawings to a big drawing.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/9ee5f6e351deead8086d7882

Arrange Frame Automatically: This function can search frames automatically, calculate according to the size of the frame and then arrange several drawings to a big drawing.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/5cad92dae0fbf667955de7d6

Menu: Express tools>Plot Tool>Arrange Frame Automatically Command Entry: ZDPT

Operation steps: 1. Start the command, a dialog box will pop up. 2. In order to get a reasonable drawing plot arrangement, you can choose which industry you want to use in advance. Click “Options” and you will get a dialog box.

Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/84a108756b5ed675b4c098bf
  1. Click “Insert files”, a “Add file Manner” dialog box will pop up, you can set the manner you like to add to the file. Folder: This option will add all the DWG files from the root directory to the arranged list, if you check “File that contains subfolders” option and all the DWG files from subfolders will be added to the arranged list. Drawing list: Add specified LST file list. File: Add specified DWG file.
Literature/GSTARCAD/2021/02 Guides/assets/Express Tools assets/0e2487c16bb9e9b96e0b835a
  1. After selecting, all the files will be in the list. 5. Click the “Preview” button to preview the arrangement effect. The system will arrange the drawings intelligently according to the frame above. 6. If you are satisfied with the effect, you can click “OK”, then the system will arrange the drawings and insert the drawing frames into the current file.
137e5163790d015a2c904a20 abbe450a922811557238e844 cab8d81bf47b9f23bb8e2d06 f1e48bf05733187213168097 c259b3693152832cfbb83895 e5033060f5036b3d90a91a13 861a2c51c2594965e576d17b ee5829a4808e776ba885696f fde478f311319cdcda133123 0f22b5d7d5b3a810b9dd64ec d590901395765b207babb086 348d82100939b9b6d5f6e84b e96dbee92093022120d3fb8d a865ed78a84e5a60698c8e76 1b6c7cde9b3d54ba73f0a7a7 2cbba6d8873adf538067297c 57e44b776b4033fe4626d936 d53e73b98dcf22a320b8f6d5 98af492f49f2f7faaf45bee0 8678525d20ac0d40307d6630 8cda89d5a329f915f59662c2 64b65b4542e51947a327e903 206ece284f55776de6e6fa1f b69900f328d53703b1f4c663 1c9508b52c5d03d41c1ddebb 977ff67e376c6987fcade164 558b75d5ee94089e4966ea45 9ce6e546a362d4ae6f357946 997b8ace0476c6cfec6a211f